You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We are the land. Comprehending that relationship changes everything!

in #ungrip6 years ago

The land I live on belongs to the Indigenous community here in Nicaragua. They are the stewards and I am allowed to steward this small piece of Mother Earth through an agreement we have. Many foreigners come here and demand to buy land and don't understand steward the land so they go to the local government to buy the land. Then I see what they do to the land. It is raped and pillaged. There is no concern for this generation or the next seven. It hurts me to the core when I see this...

Sort:  

It belongs to them because they ARE the land. It will take years and years before you will have that type of relationship as your vessel has been nourished from land all over the planet, including northern Turtle Island. That is the challenge with colonization. Despite that, it sounds like you are being a wonderful steward and also working to serve and protect the indigenous peoples there too. That is the type of peace and sharing that they all look for but rarely find due to the colonial mind set. It is barbaric what most people do. I've seen it, as have you. It hurts to the core. I cannot imagine what I would feel like if my family was hunted down and murdered as well. We have a lot of work to do my friend to turn this shit around.

I have no illusions about this being a tough and long journey. I try and lead by example but you can lead a horse to water but if they refuse to drink...

You are absolutely correct. Sorry. I did not mean to imply that you were not aware of the trials and tribulations of this journey. Peace to you my dear sister!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69643.83
ETH 3699.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26