You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The fine line between war and peace

in #ungrip6 years ago

For a moment I was going to say that putting the opponent down to flee is the right thing to do. In the one I practice, it is the main goal rather than beating the person to the ground. That being said we are also taught to avoid this violence in all forms. The history to the arts that we practice come from monks and thus I keep that in mind strongly not to abuse what I have learned and focus on self control as well.
I know if I were to be engaged in fight let's say. I try to walk away, tell the person to back off, that I am not interested, can be resolved by speaking etc and it does not work. I will block myself if a punch were to come flying my way. Will I hit back? No. But if it keeps on happening, to avoid more hits, I would restrain the person in a manner where that person will fold to the ground without punches or kicks. A lock of the wrist lets say. If that person tries to fight back, he may suffer from a broken wrist. Once down I would tell that person very firmly to leave me alone.

Most of the times that can be avoided but what happens if the person persists and you have no one to support you? That is worst case scenario.

The way I see things; take your heart and look at it, like if you were holding it. It is healthy, bright in colour and beats rhythmically and beautifully. If you were to harm someone that heart turns a dark colour. Inch by inch it will turn by every hit, every emotional pain you cause.
The more you do, the harder it gets to heal from the darkness. The more you let yourself be the more your heart turns to black tar.

But if you do the opposite, the more your heart glows and the more love spreads and the stronger it becomes to then be able to spread upon the others.

I love your posts like this. Absolutely awesome!

Sort:  

Beautifully stated. I too was taught self defense. Rule number one: don't get into trouble. If the people you hang around with get into trouble, find new friends. Rule number two: run. Only as a last resort are we to use the training we received. I agree with you. If he keeps coming, my self-defense tactics would change to the point where they guy could easily end up with a broken wrist or arm. But I would have to evaluate each step to ensure I don't cross the line. To be blunt, if it is my time to die, it is my time to die. I refuse to defend myself with deadly force if deadly force is being used on me. If they guy has a gun, I have strategies, but I will not shoot they guy in self defense. I am ready to die. I live life in order to have a good death. In the end, I am a spiritual being, not a meat suit. So I cannot die. But I can be separated from my vessel. I would rather be separated from my vessel than to separate another spiritual being from their vessel. I love your response. Well written. <3

Thank you ^_^

Never will killing be a solution to anything. Never will it be right. I agree with you.

Your post and the comments within your post brings great insight and gets people thinking and on the right path too I hope. Posts like this are much needed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63839.42
ETH 3215.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83