You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Have a Right to be Unhappy

in #unhappy5 years ago

This. All this. Years back I was working at a GNC. A woman came in looking for Dopamine, because she was depressed. First I told her that dopamine will not work, because it does not cross the blood brain barrier. She was very disappointed to hear this, and then told me that she was depressed because her daughter had died. I told her, grief in not something she should try to medicate, and to be very leary of any doctor who does. We have to deal with the Negative feelings. Myself, I harbor contention towards society and its relentless onslaught of stupid traditions, repeated unsolicited and bad advice from people, and wreckless materialism, and many other things. Fortunately I have directed my anger into productivity, and am less irritated, and working on fixing some of societies problems.

Sort:  

Same here. There are a lot of things that I am not happy about. I don't go around looking for drugs to medicate them; I try to channel the negative energy into making myself a better person.

I can't get over that anecdote though; Isn't a mother supposed to grieve when she loses her daughter? What is this world coming to? We are already handing out drugs for anxiety and depression, could you imagine grief?

One day, we'll abolish funerals and have a party every time someone dies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41