You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Have a Right to be Unhappy

in #unhappy5 years ago

I think there is a difference between using your negative emotions to foster change and wallowing in them. Left alone, and experiences without judgment, negative feelings resolve and go away on their own, and as you said, they can make you feel passionate to change things for the better. However, holding on to those feelings is not conducive for any change as you are simply attaching yourself to a situation.
I do agree with you that avoiding negative feelings is very very bad, but so is keeping yourself attached to them. For me happiness is not some emotional state I need to hold on to in fear of losing it, but the "echo" in the background that reminds me of how amazing life is, even when it gets hard and may "feel" bad.

Sort:  

You are right. However I would swap out the word situation with goal. Without a specific goal in mind, the discouraged individual will direct his feeling randomly, even at innocent people. A good explanation for the recent displays of mass shootings. I should have been more specific on that point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70700.78
ETH 3798.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43