Unscouting: The Anarchists' Solution To Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts

in #unschooling6 years ago

After recently encountering a boy scout troupe while hiking and camping, I resolved to foster interest in the organization within my oldest son.

I searched for concise videos that would explain the experience to him when I found the opening of a boy scout troupe meeting. They were presenting the flag and pledging allegiance in military style. I could already foresee the massive conflicts that a voluntaryist would encounter trying to be a part of an organization full of state supremacists. No way am I putting my child through that.

I resolved to find a better solution, and it turns out that it doesn't currently exist. Enter Unscouting. A play on the term "Unschooling", I am seeking to form a loosely organized group of similarly minded people to share knowledge and experiences with.

I've come up with a first draft description of what I hope other people would like to become a part of and make it their own. I'm looking for feedback, suggestions, and edits please.

"We strive to teach our children about the world with an emphasis on morality, reciprocity, harmony with nature, and empowering technologies in a flat hierarchy of spontaneous organization.

The boy scouts are hopelessly bogged down by bureaucracy, legality, and allegiance to the murderous state. We aim to outperform them on all aspects of their mandate with a broader and unrestricted focus, anchored in principled action and projects. We don't restrict any being from participation as long as they respect human rights as paramount in their actions.

The organizer is a voluntaryist and primary caregiver of two young boys (ages 8 mos and 3.5 years as of writing this). My own personal focus has been on bushcrafting, survival, camping, business, cryptocurrency, decentralization, tech development, food preservation, and mysticism. Typical projects I would like to begin by engaging in include making a bow and arrow through iteration and learning to use it, making kites and flying them, guerrilla gardening and community beautification, bee keeping, camping/hiking/survival instruction, and food foraging/preparation.

As my boys become more able, we will discover deeper topics along the way and we hope that others of all ages will join us to be taught and to teach us their own skills."

I'm also looking for people in SoCal hopefully near North Hollywood that might want to meet up soon. Of course, it would be awesome if people love the idea enough to start new chapters where they live too.

Our unofficial uniform could be the pith helmet (with the possible addition of sombreros and rice paddy hats).

Sort:  

@gmikeyg you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thanks. I don't understand why they would do this?

The original Boy Scouts was designed to turn young men into well trained militia. We definitely could benefit from a new organization on the local level that did the same without the statism of today's groups.

Please call out anyone you think might be interested in being a part of it. I'm currently alone as a voluntaryist here in LA and getting organized/attracting participants is daunting.

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3804.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70