You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A better way to help children learn and grow at HOME! Nope, no curriculum involved!

in #unschooling6 years ago (edited)

Alas, I found this post about an hour after the upvote cutoff!

I was homeschooled, and due to the attention sponges my younger siblings were, my education was largely self-directed from 5th grade on. I had textbooks, we tried a satellite school one year, and we did stuff as a family all year round.

I skipped 12th grade, instead jumping straight onto the local community college, where I did well enough to make the Dean's List. I had to re-take Calc I after a D, but I still contend it was due to a poor teacher. Most of the class bailed by the withdrawal date for that semester, too, which did not happen the second time through where I got a solid B.

At any rate, the self-directed study did help with college classes, which required probably an average of two hours of independent work per credit hour of classroom time.

Sort:  

Haha that's okay. :)

Yes, it is interesting all the ways homeschooling can work. Ive not heard of any two families with the exact same methods, which is as it should be.
I was also homeschooled, from the 6th grade on, and my mom tried boxed curriculum at first, (blech), and ended up doing a mix of textbooks that she chose and self -led stuff. I enrolled in our local college part time when I was 16 and did fantastic there, (straight A's, yay me!), until my mom had me drop out because there was a pervy guy trying to hit on me, and rather than help me deal with it, she just removed me from the situation entirely.

I don't have any issues with structured learning per se, my issue was with people taking their little 6 year olds and forcing them to sit for hours on end doing different paperwork rather than being active and learning the way 6 year olds love to learn, by playing. I feel that is too young for this, and it surprises me that within the homeschool community, this is still done on a very regular basis. You'd think they would be more open-minded...

Oh well. I think a lot of things going on these days that are considered 'normal' are wrong...

Thanks for your comment! :D

We knew one family in MN that followed a very strict schedule that basically brought the school's rigidity into the home. Blech indeed! My books were chosen from various sources. Saxon Math, BJU English, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59445.54
ETH 2993.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74