Better Version of Myself | How Was My First Week on Steemit

in #untalented-adjustments6 years ago (edited)

warmwelcome

It's been exactly a week since I posted for the first time on Steemit. Now, looking back (It sounds so dramatic for 7 days, but you don't know my unstable love/hate relationship with life!), honestly so much about how I spend my time on a day, how I see things has changed. Let me be more precise and summarise my point with simple sentences:

7 days ago:

"I don't have even one friend in this entire fucked up city that I have to spend months. I can hardly make living, can't socialize, can't leave the city because of my economical situation. I hate you life. Don't bother giving me opportunities."

FB_IMG_1506856241571.jpg
image from

Now:

"I have welcomed my first payout on my wallet with a smile. I tried to be original and sincere, gave my passion, time into this. I have met new people, read about their experinces and struggles, shared my thoughts and feelings, got inspired by lots of creative lovely art. I learned and taught, I gave and received empathy. I earned and make people earn. I love this opportunity and how I spend my days. I must do better, for myself and for the people on this platform."

FB_IMG_1512513096932.jpg
image from

How does this change happen? What is the underlying mindset?


Life is not fair all the time, and we all know it.

Lets start from the beginning -the smallest unit of society: Family.


Think about the most popular person among your relatives who gets extra credit for everything. Is he the smartest or kindest one? Does he makes better jokes or have a better content for conversations in all of your family gatherings? Was he there when grandma is sick? Probably the answer is no. Everybody loves him. You don't know why, and you secretly hate him deep down.

logan.jpg

Think about your peers, the students whom your teachers loved the most. Your colleagues, workers you share the office with. All those unfair grades and bonus pay checks that were distributed unwisely.

(Small advice: Try putting some slippery banana peel in your annoying relative's shoes and blame the youngest child in the house. Even he is unlikable with that smell.)

Now, lets get closer, and think about other social platforms: Youtube let's say.


I'm getting a bit more serious here. Who takes the gilt off the ginger? Best copying job! No original content!

(I'm commenting on especially Youtube Turkey here, as I know it the best, but I don't think it's very different worldwide).

There are lots of spam and copiers. It's really hard to fight with, but this is the reality. The channels with best income are either putting a child in front of camera and make him play with toys for 15 minutes or vocalize some other popular english channel's "5 ways to kill a fly!!! You can't believe this!!1!1!" videos in Turkish. You don't even have to change the thumbnail! Just translate couple of sentences and you are good to go. There are lots and lots of original, smart and brave content out there. Most of them unseen as we call it bottom of the youtube.

At last, when I started to believe I need to choose between self-respect and no economical contribution to my family, I was introduced to Steemit by a friend.


Although he is not a steemian himself, he heard about the power of Steemit and how it is different than other social platforms. On the first day of 2018, my Steemit journey has begun. I'm so glad for that day now. Steemit has given me a chance, and I will do my best with it. I got benefit and I need to give more than I get!

Ekran Alıntısı.JPG

The more I put effort, the more people seemed to like it. Spamming doesn't work here, and you get rewards when you are authentic, original, useful and entertaining. It's all fair! Here, I want to continue sharing my experinces, and feelings on my posts. The memories from my childhood, things that I questioned, sad and happy stories.. My thoughts and criticisms about almost anything.. Things that matters to me!

However, I would like to add more useful, inspiring and creative content for you.

Therefore, I decided to create different projects. One of them is about spreading love. I want to regularly visit the nursing homes in my city. I want to listen to their stories as well, be a company, and share it with you. Elderly are generally unprivileged part of society, and mostly they are unseen, unheard. I believe we have lots of things to learn from them. This platform gave me the passion to act and a place to share it with caring people. Beside sharing, I would love to find solutions to their problems as well! I will start with small steps, and do my best. After I plan everything in detail, I will make a post about it and get your ideas, and advices as well!

I believe in the community here. Dozens of people are trying to spread love, passion, hope, creativity and solutions to man-made problems!

Sharing and contributing is a life-changer act. Thank you Steemit, and all the Steemians, for helping me to be a better version of myself.

22.jpg







Sort:  

What a rollercoaster of a week! Way to go, putting yourself out there on steemit and projecting the part of yourself that you want to see in the world. Being the change you want in the world :)

It was indeed! Thank you for your beautiful words! Such a nice description :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75