DIY Greeting Card Making Contest

in #untalented6 years ago (edited)

diy.jpg
Image Source: Unsplash

Contest Title: DIY Greeting Card Making Contest

What is DIY?
DIY means do-it-yourself, that explains it completely. DIY means you have to have your creative juices flowing in making a particular craft. For this contest it is a greeting card for a loved one.

Who May Join?
Any Steemian with Reputation 60 and below

How Long the Contest Runs?
(7 days) from now until the deadline on midnight of Thursday, March 22, 2018 (Philippine Time)

How to Join?

  1. You may or may not follow me but I am a Red Fish like you, a boost will definitely help me. I will follow all my contestants.
  2. You may or may not upvote the post but upvoting this will help increase the reward. There will be no losers, every contestant will get a chunk of the payout of this contest post.
  3. You may or may not resteem but resteeming will help give it the maximum exposure and more people will vote and join. This contest will benefit everyone involve if it succeeds.

What to Make for the Contest?

  1. Make a DIY greeting card for a loved one.
  2. You are free to choose the materials to use for as long as you DO NOT USE A COMPUTER OR ANY ELECTRONICS in making the card. Work with your hands, with scissors, pens, colored papers, just be HUMAN like that.
  3. There should be a handwritten message in the card, a minimum of one line.
  4. Be as creative as possible, you may use egg shells, crayons, twigs, dried leaves, yarn, trash, broken glass, or just anything you see around the house, no need to buy materials. Make use of what you have.
  5. It is assumed that we are all adults and you would be careful with yourself in handling sharps.
  6. In presenting your work in a post show a picture of the finished product and detail the process and explain why you chose to make a card for that particular person and how dear is he/she to you. You may share your realization or how this activity made you feel.
  7. Refer a fellow Red Fish to join the contest and mention them in your post.
  8. Leave the link to your post as a comment to this post so I will know you have an entry.
  9. Use "diygreetings" as the first tag for your post.
  10. (Optional) Send or give the card to the person you made it for. You may or may not do this but it's better if you do because it's sweet, right? This does not affect the judging, this is just a bonus item, just for fun and spice. But why not, right? To be fair, I'll make one for my boyfriend and show it here and send it to him. How's that?

Prizes:
1st prize = 3 SBDs
2nd prize = 2 SBDs
3rd prize = 1 SBD
Consolation Prizes will be given to everyone who will join but the amount will vary on how much this post will earn, mainly because the prizes for them will be taken from here. It's guaranteed that there will be no losers! If the post earns more, it will be my discretion how much percentage of the full payout will be allocated to the non-winning contestants, but they will be getting less than the prizes of the winners, definitely.

The Respectable Judge:
The judge will be my good Steemit friend and best buddy in real life, my fellow dialysis patient who always gives me handwritten notes and gifts @dunnadelirium.

Criteria for Judging:
The above instructions should be followed - 10%
Creativity (artistic factor) - 30%
Uniqueness (originality and wow factor) - 30%
Presentation (detailing and the touching story behind the work) - 30%

Why am I making this contest?
It's been a month since my first contest which was a success, so I plan to do another one, hopefully I can make it a tradition to do this monthly. This is my little way of helping fellow Red Fish/ Minnows through engaging them in a contest and helping them keep Steeming and in the process earn a little while they do something fun. Also, this is something I want to do for myself, since there are days that there is really not much to blog about and I don't want to waste the opportunity to earn and be productive in Steemit. Just like the first contest I hosted, this idea just popped into my head about how I can get in touch with my human. (Sir @surpassinggoogle reference.)

I have grown up around computers, I have been using a computer since 1997, and to be honest, making a card is something I do not remember doing in my adult life. My good friend @dunnadelirium has been sending me handwritten letters lately and it just touches me so good that I cry a tear reading them. I realized, this is something I want to do and this is something I want people to realize here in Steemit and just everyone around the world. I'm pretty sure all of us have a person in mind we can send a DIY, handmade and handwritten greeting card.

My boyfriend and I will have our anniversary this 27th, as early as now I am actually raiding Youtube and other craft tutorial sites for inspiration for a card, because I want to send him one. This is the first time I'm making a greeting card for my boyfriend. I remember there were sites online before where you just fill out a form with when to send a greeting and to whom, and the site sends an e-card to them on that date. It was pretty cool back then and convenient because it was the start of the email era. Then social media came and took over, sending greetings is just posting on someone's profile or shooting a message in a messenger app, it's not much effort and instant.

I guess, another thing that I am trying to accomplish in this contest is to get back to the basics and try to be more hands-on and personal with our real life relationship's communication. It's just a greeting card but I'm pretty sure it will make things more intimate and it will make your loved ones feel even more special because that's what a personal touch does to things.

Let your creativity and feelings flow, make a DIY greeting card for your dear ones, and blog about it here in Steemit, now!

diy1.jpg
Image Souce: Unsplash

Going old school is cool!


#steemitachievers #steemph #steemitpowerupph

Support.gif

Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Support his other brainchild projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops and #steemsecrets. Thank you!

Sort:  

I'll join here :)

I'll look forward to that, thanks for the support @joeysison.

Time to dust of them craft supplies and put them to use!!!
@fukumineko, @jacinta.sevilla Wanna join?

Yeiey! I really wish I can increase the prize, hahahaha! Thank you, guys!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you, @followforupvotes. You help a lot of Red Fishes like me and that's awesome!

Thank you, I am honored. Your compilation is a big help to Red Fishes and Minnows, keep it up! I'll see you around. Thank you for the support!

Hi @mermaidvampire! Thank you for inviting me to join your contest. This will be fun! I love doing cards from crafts. hahaha

I'll look forward to see your entry, thanks for the support @wondersofnature. I'm glad you are an active Steemian, I'll keep inviting you to my contests. All the best!

@mermaidvampire

Came to visit you, but the auto-voter already voted. So I looked for your replies to comments, so I could vote you UP some more, but... :-(
Show up and I might return! :D

Thank you, @minnowbootcamp! I did not know you upvote comments. Thanks for the support. I wonder if I can delegate SP to you? I actually delegate 10SP to communities that support minnows. I hope I can give more in the future. Do you welcome delegations?

Yes I do, you can donate that SP to @minnowbootcamp but we have a Brand NEW, larger, and growing Bot that actually will start PAYING YOU BACK for Delegations. @mbc-meps as you may have seen!

I just vote comments when I get the extra SP and I saw your post in Promo. Your name stands out to me as a neat contrast of 2 normally polar-opposite critters from legend ;) Glad you are more Mermaid than Vampire :D

I've delegated and I hope others will do the same! Thanks!!

Thank you so much! I will get myself updated of your new projects and we'll share them to people who might be interested. You really rock the name minnowbootcamp, let's have more minnows in! I dream to be a mermaid by day and a vampire by night, best of both worlds, thus the name! :-)

Miss M, I love this! Your contests are always awesome! Too bad I missed the Life Mantra contest. But this one I really want to join! I will find time despite my busy sked. Submission of grades and report week. Teacher probs. huhu.

Congrats in advanced for another successful initiative! :)

Thank you, I appreciate this @chinitacharmer. I'm looking forward to checking your entry. This is a tough time for teachers but I hope you get a time for a breather and relax and make something fun like this DIY card. Thanks for the support. All the best to you, always! God bless!

This is awesome! I love the idea of bringing back the lost art of traditional letter-writing, more so making the card DIY-style! I'm honored to be this contest's judge 🤩 You're right, that "personal touch" makes the greeting more intimate, more special... it shows a lot of love was put into making it as it was done by hand. 💖

Yeiey! I know you will be surprised to know you are the judge! Ahahahaha! You're right, when I thought about this, I wrote the post right away because I thought it was a good idea. Thanks, Donna! Sorry I think this one will be tough to judge but I trust that you can do it easy. Thanks much! xoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81