The Old Dog Announces: A New Contest Featuring Untamed Nature! 10 Steem in Prizes

in #untamednature6 years ago (edited)

I am always amazed at how plants and trees, when left to their own natural ways, will grow just about anywhere.

I like to equate it as part of "The Second Law of Thermodynamics" wherein when things are left unattended or maintained they go from order to disorder. Imagine your garden left on its own for years, what would it be like?

Think of a beautiful building. If you leave it and its surroundings abandoned for many years it will eventually be "swallowed up" by plants and trees that gain a foothold everywhere!


The Example of Chernobyl


About 32 years ago the area around Chernobyl in the Ukraine had to be abandoned after a nuclear accident. A visitor there today would see the effect of untamed nature. 


After just over 30 years we can see that eventually the Ferris wheel will disappear! Photo credit: Pixabay.com



Imagine this scene after 50 years, 100 years or 1,000 years! What would it look like? photo credit: Pixabay.com


Here Are The Rues For Our Competition


  • Take a picture of a tree or plant growing in an unusual place (see my personal example below).
  • The photograph must be your own original work. Do NOT enter pictures that you find on the internet! Please be honest and sincere on this point.
  • You can make your own post about your photo but you must include the picture in the comments here.
  • The deadline for submissions is once the post pays out.
  • Please us the tag "untamednature" in your post and I'll try my best to visit it.


Here is an Example That I Saw Recently


To give you a better idea of what I'm looking for I'm including a picture of what I saw in a town on my recent visit to Tenerife.



Here you can see an electrical conduit running up the wall of this non abandoned building.



Here you can see small plants and trees have gained a foothold into cracks in the pipe and walls. How big will they be 10 years from now if left unattended?


I Can't Wait to See Your Photographs!


I'm really looking forward to seeing your submissions of Untamed Nature #untamednature. At the end we will create a nice post with all of your examples!


I hope that you enjoyed this article/contest about Untamed Nature!



Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together

Sort:  

Here's my entry:

DSC02052 (2).JPG

Inside the Fort Edmonton

it's a brilliant entry!
my vote for @oldtimer 👈🏽
@kus-knee you chosen a great topic, thanks for your time on steemit 🙌🏾

Now that is fascinating! What is that? Looks like a regular house, but as fortes also XD Like from some Ghibli anime...

There are definately trees growing on that roof!

Great contest! Good luck my friend! :)

Here is one of my photos for the competition. Taken recently at Shwe Indein Pagoda, in Inle Lake, Myanmar . A ruined temple with a Banyan tree growing out of it.I was lucky enough to capture it just as the light was hitting the tree. ._DSC4447102.jpg

Very cool!

Dandelion • Untamed Nature
I photographed this untamed dandelion on a backstreet in Italy. It was the gangliest dandelion I've ever seen but it brought a welcome splash of color to the dusty curb.

Keith Richards and Mick Jagger said it best, "Dandelions don't care about the time."

IMG_3176.jpg
https://steemit.com/untamednature/@otage/dandelion-untamed-nature

It looks like it has a nice grip!

Very cool. I'd love to see it from the other side too.

This is for you :-D
IMG_20180306_114057.jpg

IMG_20180306_115217.jpg

Sorry I didn't made a post but I hope you like it ;-)))

Oooooh these are very nice!

Thank you very very much :-))))

Actually they would look great in our latest Mundane Art gallery where we are examining walls!

You are so right!!!

I’m very happy I found this cool contest. Mother Nature is always full of life and wisdom. =) Here’s my entry. Thanks @kus-knee!

21D92316-97F5-411A-966D-AEAA846B84E1.jpeg

Details: https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@itchyfeetdonica/51-a-tale-of-life

Very cool pics!

my entree! A fun contest! thanks!


click to go to original post

A nice entry.Thanks!

Thank you @kus-knee for holding this original contest. I love the invincibility of Mother Nature and always admire plants growing at some of the most improbable places. Here is a shot I took in my kitchen sink two years ago :) What a nice surprise it was to see this little guy making his way through the lattice. I had no idea how the seed got there though :D

IMG_20151229_142811.jpg

That's cool. What type of plant was it?

haha i love this lil cute one :D

This is a police-car with a nearly perfect camouflage, ready to hand out speed tickets - LOL! ;)

You are absolutely right! :)))

This is fabulous!

Great entry, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63