There's something phishy going on/ I'm Back.

in #update7 years ago

Hello Steemit. Today I am writing to bring both an update and a warning.
Keep your eyes open for changes when you are viewing posts. My nephew just joined steemit two days ago, and wrote some posts. He also got phished, all he did was try to upvote a comment which had warned him, ironically, of the original poster. So he tried to upvote the person that was "helping him out" and it had him re-enter his login info. The fake website looked identical to the real Steemit page, but the URL was different. The bottom line here is that you need to be careful, very little changes when you go to a phony site. I don't want to see this happen to anyone else. We are both currently working to get it fixed, but the process is slow and tedious. If the URL suddenly becomes something like "steemit . aba . ae . com" you should just back out.
Now, for some happier news.
I have done some more writing! I will be putting out one of two TRUE horror stories that happened to me for real tomorrow. A shocking tale that may just leave your skin crawling. It happened to me way in high school, and it caused a lasting phobia that I am only just getting over today. I don't want to spoil anything but it's going to be a good read. Thanks so much to everyone who has stayed and dealt with my absence both here and in the real world. It's easy to fall back into a rut in the ground, even easier when that rut is actually a five foot deep trench. Once more, thank you all for your support.
Steem on!
-broester

Sort:  

Thanks for the warning, sir. Voted and resteemed. Hope the steemit software can prevent such attacks

I too hope they fix this.

creepers be creeping. watch thy self

Aye, we must be careful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59