Merry Christmas! I'm still alive!

in #update5 years ago

Hello everyone! I hope you're all doing well!

I've not had any time to do any new tech videos since I've moved, honestly. I've been super busy between Food Lion, Target, and freelance website development.

It's now Christmas Eve and I figured I'd give some kind of update, even if it's just a blog rather than a video.

After dropping my laptop one too many times, I decided I needed a new laptop. Because of my budget, I went with a refurbished Chromebook. For a long time, I didn't think I'd really be all that happy with a Chromebook. But I've been really happy with mine so far. I have th3e Dell Chromebook 11 3120, specifically, which is from 2015. Android apps and Linux containers are not supported on it yet, though from what I understand, support is planned. Of course I can go into developer mode (and I have) and use Crouton to install Linux apps that way, and I can also install Linux distributions on external drives.

So I'm using Chrome OS when I just need to get online quickly, and then Gallium OS from an external SSD when I need a more full-fledged Linux desktop to get my web development work done.

I'm going to be doing other projects with this Chromebook too, as Chromebooks are more flexible than what people tend to give them credit for.

OK, so when will I be making a new video? Honestly, I really don't know yet. It looks like January at the earliest. But on top of time constraints that I have had, I also now have my desktop set up in the living room area because there's no room anywhere else to set it up. So that makes it difficult to do any videos and live streams if one of my roommates is at the apartment. Most of the time they're not there, but I don't really know their schedules so it's hard to say if someone will interrupt me making a video or live stream. I may be able to figure out a solution, though. The other problem is that at the apartment, our internet is really finicky, and I'm not exactly sure why. I'd have to talk with my roommates about replacing the modem and router, and seeing if that helps.

But I'm still alive, still around and still have plans for the Joey Tech Talks channel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59