UpFundMe | Organ recital travel expenses #2

in #upfundme5 years ago


Last year's performance at Bowral, NSW

This is my second (of three) @upfundme posts to assist with my travel expenses at an upcoming organ recital I'm giving in Bowral, NSW, on October 20. You can read the first post here (post payout currently $3.06 in three days).

Here is a rough breakdown of my travel expenses:

  • Fuel: ~$100 AUD return
  • Meals: ~$30 AUD per day (3 days)

Today I thought I would share with you my recital programme:

In Memoriam - Denis Bédard
Tuba Tune - Brett McKern
Adagio and Trio - Jeff Perks
Prelude in E-flat major (“St Anne”), BWV 552i - Johann Sebastian Bach
Ciacona in f-moll - Johann Pachelbel
Attende Domine, Op. 8 - Jeanne Demessieux
Toccata (from 12 Pièces pour orgue) - Theodore Dubois
Fountain Reverie - Percy Fletcher
Festival Toccata - Percy Fletcher

For those interested, a specification of the organ can be found here: https://www.ohta.org.au/organs/organs/Bowral.html

I am an active member of the #secretsoforganplaying and #classical-music community here on Steem. I also have an IT background and have contributed to several community projects such as the @giphy bot, the @easysbi contest and witness @untersatz.

I plan to make three posts for this #upfundme and will be setting 100% beneficiary to @likwid. This is so the STEEM can be converted quickly to fiat for the purposes of assisting with my travel costs. @likwid will comment on this post at payout so we can all keep track of how much was contributed. Of course, I will be posting updates on my recital preparation and the recital itself in due course!


Consider using one of your witness votes on untersatz!


Run by myself and organduo—supporting the community with regular contests: Easy SBI Contest, Pinky and Spiky Drawing Contest and Secrets of Organ Playing Contest. Also powering the popular giphy bot and donating STEEM for deemarshall's creative contests.

You can also support me using Steem Basic Income


Classical_Music_smaller.png

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto
Community Logo by ivan.atman


Sort:  

Mulet is not easy to play, my compliments!
I tried the Toccata (Tu es Petra) once. Too difficult then. But I've become a lot better since then, so I'm going to try it again.

Thanks. This was a live performance. Few slips here and there but I was happy with the entire recital overall. This piece really needs a lively acoustic which this church doesn’t have.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're right to be happy with the result. Ir's a live performance in a dry acoustic. I think you did very well.
This kind of composition was written for tha large French cathedrals. And they sound best in that kind of acoustical environment. And not because it is a little more ofrgiving for playing mistakes. It adds a layer of tonal quality that just lacks in these dry churches. I thought dry acoustics was an American characteristic, but obviously an Australian characteristic as well.

This post earned a total payout of 1.333$ and 1.002$ worth of author reward which was liquified using @likwid. To learn more.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59