Is it wrong to upvote your own post when you are still a minnow?

in #upvoting6 years ago (edited)

I have been on Steemit for 3 months now and recently purchased some steem that I powered up with. My number of followers is in the 200's and I'm not sure how many are active. Most of my posts accumulate less than 10 cents, with my better posts getting 20-30 cents. As many of you know, it can be hard to get your posts seen when you are a minnow and therefore you feel unsuccessful when nobody upvotes your material. I have been upvoting a lot of my post to help myself grow and I don't feel too bad about it because my vote is only worth about 3 cents.

I was wondering how acceptable this is in the community and if it is acceptable, where is the cutoff line where someone is being too greedy? I want to keep my integrity, but I also want to grow and that 3 cents that I have adds up if I keep using it.

If you read this entire post and leave a thought out comment and I'll share my 3 cents with you.

Sort:  

I’m in the same boat and have been doing the same. Even to my own comments. Gotta get started somewhere. It helps me stay engaged as i see my influence on the platform growing. Otherwise it often feels like I’m just talking to emptiness and that’s discouraging. I find that that people either got on really early, got lucky with an initial post or two or used some method to market themselves (ie paid bots). People have to help themselves because the platform doesn’t have anything built in to do it for you. Anyway, bottom line is I think it’s fine.

I wondered the same thing a few months ago. After going through some of the posts from people I follow it seems pretty common place to up-vote your own posts. Lately, I've been playing around with voting on my own posts immediately or waiting to see if voting later works better as far as getting my stuff out there. Either way, I am in the same boat, trying to get my posts out there so best of luck to you!

Thanks! Which way has been more beneficial for you?

From what I've seen in the past month, for me, its best to vote up-front if I have more than 90% vote power. If less, I have been waiting a day. You have more Steem Power than me though so that experiment would probably show more clear results for you.

With a lot of whales powering down and a lot of new faces, plus the invention of many new Steemit Apps changing the content around here— lots of the old manners promoted here will have to change.

That being said, here is what I have learned is considered acceptable for anyone will less than 10,000 earned SP.

Upvoting your own POST is fair since you put in time and effort— because there is no guarantee you will be upvoted by anyone else. This gives you a little-guaranteed reward for your time and publishing. After all, this is published. Whatever you post on the blockchain is considered published. So your master is fixed. It's sort of like digital copyrighting. Digressing, for this reason, it's considered acceptable to upvote your POST.

I suggest you do NOT upvote your post when publishing automatically. This is because your voting power may be low :) Publish, and always upvote yourself when you are back to 100% so you get your full self-vote.

When your own vote reaches $1-$50 then you may be considered rude by some people for self-voting. However, it also depends on how much quality your content contains. If your post is 10 pages long, beautifully formatted, grammatically accurate, etc. NOBODY is going to be mad if you upvoted yourself for $10.

COMMENTS

It is considered tacky to upvote your own comments. There are some exceptions.

  • If you upvoted the person you responded to and they upvoted you back, you can generally get away with upvoting your comment as well. You just don't want to be the FIRST person to upvote your comment.
  • If you think your comment is VERY important or VERY helpful, you can upvote yourself to be SEEN. This temporarily "pins" the comment to the top. That is because the comment with the most upvotes rises to the top.
    That's called upvoting for visibility and is common with answering important questions factually spam reporting/warnings, and so on. If you're just leaving a regular comment though, you can look a little attention-seeking doing this if it's not a valuable comment.

Lastly, if money is a concern, you can make more by voting strategically through curation rewards. You can go to steemfollower and set yourself to upvote certain people automatically. Then you can set your upvote to only do that under certain conditions. You want to pick people whom make high paying content who ALSO make great content, consistently. I know, this sounds sketchy. Then you will autofollow them and upvote everything they post at 100% at the 25 minute mark. And you set it up so you only autovote when your voting power is over 95%- preserving some of your votes for manual curation.

Also, try steem plus which will let you upvote more people by adjusting your vote weight. Using busy.org as an interface gives you more features. [note: that is an invite link with referral and if you choose to use my referral, it will give me a bit of a boost without costing you anything. Busy is 100% legit and you look at the tag #busy to see how many people use it.]

Hope this was helpful.

I did the same thing when I first joined. Then I stumbled on @shadowbot. Follow them and you will probably notice larger rewards.

I think the majority of Steemers would agree that it’s frowned upon. However, if it makes you happy and hurts no one else then who is anyone to tell you otherwise

Hi dear @davidblackwell, i have once heard is not good to upvote your post but sometimes you can't even help it.

Your is even better you get up to 10-30 cents, i can remember making 4 posts that got nothing at all, to get 2 cent is most times not easy.

Personally is not bad for me, afterall you can't upvote a post more than once, as long as you extend a helping hand to others.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75