You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upvoting – Meritocracy or Mediocrity?

in #upvoting7 years ago

Great post buddy and very well said. I am in complete agreement with you but also have to accept your correct assessment that quality is a matter of perspective and it will be the community that decides what is good content. Whilst I know there is indeed a lot of fantastic content on the site, there is also a lot of content that I personally would describe as less than good being rewarded with upvotes and large payouts.

I think it can be a good thing for average men and women like ourselves to to be able to earn from our posts but it also leads to a lot of abuse of the platform and greed within its users.

I would like to have a popular blog with lots of readers and viewers and also I would like to be rewarded for my efforts if the community feel it adds value but I do not want to be involved in a popularity contest and have hundreds of 'followers' who upvote my work without even looking at it and I don't have time to look over hundreds of posts from those I follow so I try to keep my following list as short as possible so that I can interact with those who add value to my experience of the platform.

It's a work in progress I suppose but it needs a lot of work I feel.

Thanks again.

Sort:  

I agree. I cannot abide just following persons who decide to follow me before I even made an initial post. I cannot just reciprocate following when, after reading content, I don't actually agree with that thinking. All the best.

You too mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68101.41
ETH 3762.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69