Urban Exploration – A Trilogy of Failures

in #urbex5 years ago


We are Urban Explorers, we are not vandals. We take nothing besides photographs and leave nothing but footprints.

After our initial success in finding Holdings Country Pottery and doing a successful exploration of the place I was full of beans and looking to do the next one.

Talk about beginners luck! Had I happened on a gem with no security and a place relatively untouched by vandals? I think so as my next THREE attempts all ended in different levels of failure.

In reverse order, last Sunday I earmarked two places to visit both of them in close proximity the where I live. One was a disused power station the other an old chicken factory.

w0nyvc0513.jpg
Source

I had driven past the gates of the power station several times only to find them locked, but possibly climbable if I could find no holes in the fence.

Sunday morning is supposed to be a day of rest, people going to church, roads empty, streets deserted.

So why is an organised 10k run going right past the gates, and what’s worse why are the ‘always locked’ gates open and blokes in high visibility jackets milling about?

Fail One. Never mind there’s always the chicken factory that looks like it’s in a rural location.

u1bwfzvbcr.jpg
Source

Fifteen minutes later, I’m in the countryside driving past the entrance of the side road to where my target is. What? It’s supposed to be rural, so why is there a terraced street here with a load of houses?

I dumped the car and walked to the entrance or should I say past it looking intently inside. Big gates with chains but I could slip through the netting on the side.

That is if this place was not in full visibility of 20 houses or so. Not content with giving up I walked up the lane by the side of the factory only to encounter a car coming down the road toward me.

The road was marked private road (to cars) and the driver was obviously thinking I was up to no good. He drove past me ever so slowly and then stopped, reversed and came back to see what I was up to.

Talk about paranoia!

Fail Two. So let’s go back a day to Saturday for something a little more interesting.

u1bwfzvbcr.jpg
Source

@bingbabe was doing an abseil in Sheffield that day (write up is coming) so I checked to see what appropriate creepy mansions were in the area and found ‘Thornseat Lodge’, perfect!

Abandoned and left to rot since the 1980’s this spooky looking manor house was just what I was looking for.

I had checked this place out but the last report I read was 18 months old.

No security, middle of nowhere, extremely dangerous to enter inside due to rotting floors, big holes in the ground due to missing manhole covers and 40 something years of neglect. Bloody wonderful!

9m3q88rahn.jpg

The manor can be seen from the roadside and is still striking in its present terrible form. Parking can be a problem as it’s on a very minor road but we managed.

@bingbabe decided to not come with me on this one; she had a feeling of doom and despair about the place. Hindsight tells me it was a wise choice.

met8kuch1r.jpg

Entering was not so difficult but I won’t tell how I gained access. They do try and make things difficult for you though with barbed wire and other nasty things.

74cb198pel.jpg

The original driveway is clear once inside, but I spotted some security cameras. They are not supposed to be there?

o6tub4h0aq.jpg

Undeterred I approached the house via the massively overgrown vegetation area to the right of the road thus avoiding the camera. This shot looks like a horror movie still.

hxxmaoss5j.jpg

It took me a while but I got to the road in front and got some nice shots of the house. The ruin is all to apparent to see, broken windows, collapsed floors, holes in the lower areas of the house, some of the roof is missing.

c2eqcj6ikv.jpg

On approaching the house, I literally shit my bricks. There was another camera to my left with a loudspeaker attached and another to the right (edge of picture).

‘You are trespassing on private property and have been recorded using CCTV. The evidence collected will be used against you. Leave immediately’

As much as I was tempted to bolt, I didn’t leave right away. ‘Just a few more shots and I’ll be gone I muttered’.

xtz4a278wh.jpg

I know trespass law and that it is not in fact a criminal act or illegal if you are not vandalising the place and have entered without damaging anything.

Nonetheless I had images of 4 burly blokes with German shepherds chasing me around the grounds.

l5n7f54btj.jpg

The side of the house showed it to be in a terrible state. The roof was collapsed at this point. I wonder if the ‘new’ security is because the place is either going to be demolished soon or refurbished.

Hopefully it’s the latter. The property would have been majestic once. The brickwork does not look like it was built in the 1800’s either. It just looks too new and yet here it is.

y5j645mqpm.jpg

Eventually I got the willies and scooted down the driveway past the original camera setting that one off too, through the access point and hurriedly got in the car and drove off.

Partial Fail Three. I’m really going to have to do better than this!

All photographs were taken by myself unless cited.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Very interesting. I wonder how they are going to use the evidence against you if they don't know who you are. Good luck to them with that! The house really did have a great atmosphere. Definitely a good post for Halloween. How did the conversation with the guy in the car go?

The guy in the car didnt open his window. It was steamy inside and contained a few barking dogs besides the driver. I tried to avoid eye contact.

They can try and arrest @slobberchops the maniac I suppose. I don't know where he lives though.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Good efforts pal. These old buildings really are fascinating. Why not take a few spray cans and stencils with you...adds to the excitement...u could be the next Banksy!

Ack,, NO.. I dont want to damage anything, that would be criminal then. Besides Im a crappy artist, and the efforts would be someting like a 5 yr old generated.

You've always liked to push the boundaries of legality so I can see how this would appeal to you. Good pictures :)

Yes, you do know me. This kind of thing is keeping me young, you should give it a go. I know you love your photography too,

Ahhhh. The life of a UX. I'm guessing you are going to have more missions like this than the first one. If it were easy it wouldn't be any fun, would it?

I got a false sense of security from the first one. It's not easy and it seems everyone's watching. You get to see things most others don't though. Yes, I'm planning the next already.

this is such a great saying

We are Urban Explorers, we are not vandals. We take nothing besides photographs and leave nothing but footprints.

Well after your fails things seemed to get a lot better such interesting sights

You ought to give it a go, I know you love your photography.

Indeed I must look for some abandoned buildings in my area

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 299 (11/01/18)

There's a hotel round the corner looks like that. I stayed in it. Once. Gaffer tape everywhere holding the carpet together and little piles of plaster dust all the way up the stairs. There was a notice on the desk saying "we apologise for the renovations" according to a review on tripadviser that had been there since 1993. I laughed at the 10k run bit. You're very brave, I'd never get past the gates, although the massive, now empty, Pfizers complex at Sandwich always looks like it is calling to urban explorers.

Sunday was not a good day for me. I will try again this weekend. Have another mansion earmarked as well as a revisit to the power station. This is a new thing for me so learning a lot about it and how to do it.

Dear @slobberchops,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=urban-exploration-a-trilogy-of-failures-d6c8b9089f871est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86