Procrastination Simulator: Now an Open Source Project

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

94weu53257.jpg

Repository

https://github.com/ahmadmanga/Procrastination-Simulator

Introduction

Procrastinating Simulator is an interactive fiction, where you are an aspiring game developer who gets easily distracted. Through the choices, you either get some progress done or get distracted all day without any result.

zop9ii0ud4.png
How the game typically looks to the player.

The current version can be played on SteemGG.
While the legacy version is on Itch.io & GameJolt
All these versions will be replaced sometime in the future.
Their download links are available in the repository.

The interactive fiction was made using Twine/Twinery 2 engine's with some CSS changes for the look and feel. The last private version was released two months ago (August 2018) and now the source code is published on Github as an Open Source project.

Why "Procrastination Simulator?"

This might not be the only Twine open source project, Twine itself is open source and it's so well-documented. Still, as you'll see below there are unique elements in Procrastination Simulator as an open source project:

  • It's relatable: since many game developers have their "low" times where they get distracted from their work. They can relate to this interactive fiction choices and maybe learn how to avoid them.

  • It's expandable: even if no more endings are added. The distractions along the way can be expanded upon and improved by more minds better than one.

  • It's changeable: anyone can make a version of the game that relates to each one's life more, or change the role of protagonist to something else.

  • It's easy to edit without programming knowledge, and one of the goals of the project is to make it easier. So anyone can add sound & images to make it more gamey and fresh.

  • It's short: While compared to well-known stories, that's a bad thing. The ideal Routes in my imaginary ideal Procrastination Simulator shouldn't take more than ten minutes from the player. It's about relatability over quantity.


This Open Source Project Goals

Goals Of Procrastination Simulator
-------------------------
1) To Crowd-source Procrastination Simulator improving & bug fixing.
2) To Let Anyone Make Their Own Variation of This IF.
3) To Teach Writers Developing Similar games/IFs with Twine.

The first goal: "Improving and Bug fixing," can be achieved easily with the help of the community.

The Second Goal: "Anyone Make Their Own Variation" is partly achieved now, but can be completed with a good documentation in the Github repository.

The Third Goal: "To Teach Writers Developing Similar games." This one depends more on the community, but I'm rather positive for #utopian-io ability to promote such project to writers who have ideas but can't make them reality alone.


Procrastination Simulator: Past & Future

How It All Started

I remember I was fascinated with the many ideas people on itch.io came up with. The games might be very bad to play but the ideas I saw were amazing. I tried to make a game that has something unique, but all I come up with were playable unfinished games.

One day I decided to work on something and finish it! February 2016 saw the release of my (arguably) first finished game, I was proud at the time.

kg0v5ss5nr.jpg
The Legacy version Logo ^

When I wanted to upload it to @steemgg two years later I noticed how bad the language was. So I hastily made the #SteemGG version, correcting what I can from the start to finish!

Where The Project is Going?

Even with edits I missed some phrases, made many mistakes and in my haste, the Source Code became harder to read. Now that I made the project open source, I'll make sure to fix these errors.

No one can know the future, but while I want to keep the main Procrastination Simulator project for myself and those who help contribute to it. The source code itself is for the community to learn from, work on and fork/edit as they want.

I'm looking forward
to see your variations of this interactive story.

myj52ctqhq.jpg
This is how the Project looks inside Twine.

Editing The Source Code

The current version of Procrastination Simulator doesn't use Variables other than the ones hard-coded/hidden in the engine. You can edit the code via downloading Twine 2 & importing the runnable HTML file, or you can just edit the HTML file yourself with any text editor.

d62t85cxx8.jpg
The Editing Screen.

Expected Project Roadmap

What I'll focus on next, and I'm open to ideas is to work on fixing the errors and make the Source Code easier to read for future contributors. My priorities are:

  • Finding all the typos & fixing incorrect verb tenses. (Priority)
  • Adding more comments on CSS for newbies to the language.
  • Cleaning the Project Documentation, adding more value to it.
  • Re-publish on SteemGG, Gamejolt & itch.io
  • Creating more alternate routes and endings (long term.)

Final Thoughts

I wish this project gets accepted into @utopian-io. I might make tasks for people to improve the project. But in my current plan, I wish to work on cleaning the code and fixing issues. From now on, as I make updates I'll do so through Github.

Special Thanks To:
@steemGG community for encouraging me to work on the project after two years of inactivity. And thanks to #utopian-io Discord community for helping me deciding the approach to write this post with.


Resources


~ Thanks for Reading ~

Sort:  

Thank you for this contribution. We're always delighted when a project goes open source. Your post was comprehensive and informative, giving readers all the information they might need. You also provided good graphical illustration.

That said, your post could have benefited from improving a couple of key areas. On the content side, you mention that there are other open source twine games, but don't mention what they are or talk about them in any meaningful way.

On the presentation side, your post had some issues of style and grammar. If you like, I can give some examples in a follow-up comment.

Finally, I played the game, and enjoyed it. Sadly, it did not take enough of my time to procrastinate writing this moderation review.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for your comment and evaluation, I loved how you started with a prasing the post's good points.

I agree with all of the answers the only one I was disappointed at was the first "below average." But even while I'm honestly disappointed, This made me want to learn how to master the quality of my post. If you can tell me the other areas I'm weak at, please do.


On the content side, you mention that there are other open source twine games, but don't mention what they are or talk about them in any meaningful way.

Thanks, I'll research more on that matter, will the evaluation change if I added them?


your post had some issues of style and grammar. If you like, I can give some examples in a follow-up comment.

Please show me examples, English isn't my first language so obvious facts may be unknown to me.

Loading...

Finally, I played the game, and enjoyed it. Sadly, it did not take enough of my time to procrastinate writing this moderation review.

Really, thank you for playing!

Ideally I want Procrastination Simulator to not take more than 10 minutes in each play-through. So those who only want to play it once can do so without worrying about their time. Actually I want them to think on how to not spend their time.

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 7 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations Steemian! Because you have created excellent content, you have received an upvote from us!

We represent STEEMPUNK-NET, the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. Meet other Clockwork Fighters our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

If you dare, step into the Clockwork Arena and test your skills against other Steemians.

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet :
[50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

Looks interesting. I'll have to check it out later.

Hi @ahmadmanga!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 132 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Curious how in some free time reading the truffle picks I see this!!! :D

Hahahaha, a procrastination simulator, I'm sure one of the choices is spending time on steemit :P

Well, I must admit that the only game I know that was made by a community is VH (short for violated heroine) in RPG Maker XP, that's OLD!!!! the game itself is a hodgepodge of stuff but it's interesting at some levels because you'll often see the nuances and differences of the people who worked in it. It's pretty unique in many ways, maybe we'll see this simulator take the same path?

You got some typos right at the VERY end, dcumentation and Reposirty :D

Hahahaha, Procrastination Simulator, I'm sure one of the choices is spending time on steemit :P

Why? How did you-- ? yeah the #steemgg version of the interactive fiction has spending some time for steemit as one of the choices.

You got some typos right at the VERY end, dcumentation and Reposirty :D

Still waiting for the day I write without typos!


Really glad your post was chosen too~

Hey, @ahmadmanga!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Thank you very much for the approval. I'll continue to post updates for this project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71