New - TagBased "TeamSystem" Suggestion - For Translations Section of Utopian-io

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

utop.png

You may ask yourself; "Who the hell is this guy?"

  • Please, let me have a quick introduction about myself. I am a young man who is studies at Hacettepe University- Geomatics Engineering Department (Turkey). I am a newbie in this platform, i do accept that. But I am a young male who loves pushing limits. I know 2 programming languages (Python and Matlab (intermediate)). Turkish is my native language and I can describe my "English" level as "advanced". No need make you feel bored with this stuff which you probably don't care.
    I am also an Utopian-io Discord Manager.

First of all, I need to mention about my purpose of writing this post and why do I write it via the platform 'Utopian-io'. I want to keep this "suggestion post" in formal way as much as possible but i don't know if I can. And one of the most important things is: I do not write it to get rewarded, I just want to get noticed and learn if someone is looking for solutions for this section that may work, from the upper teams (those who have authority).

Description of "I don't know if I can" part ?

  • Because the idea, the project is so raw for now (I am okay with the additional suggestions, they might be added.)
  • Because i do write this idea in very short time. (I have some issues to deal with in my life, not about these platforms)
  • Because I do not care if this is get rewarded or not, so forgive me if it's wrong to do that in this way.
  • Because of the last "rules update" (and because of that update, also the problem for this section) is so fresh and I wanted to share the solution suggestion that popped up in my head, quickly.

And so on...

My purpose with this post and project is;

  • Getting quality works without leaving Crowdin.

  • This idea might get noticed and may work really efficient if we can make it in proper way.

  • The user friendly platform Crowdin, is no longer supported by Utopian-io. I see the point "why". My purpose is not the change things back to the way that it works in past. My project is about, "easy use - quality works".

  • And in my opinion, the most important one; this idea will let the translators do what they are good at. They won't be dealing with contacts to project owners, won't be dealing with GitHuB, merge problems, 14 days problems, dealing with many other things... Why we do make them learn things that is not necessary (and hard) for them?
    By the way,

  • I work on translations section too. Learning how GitHub works... That is not a problem for me, believe me. Just few hours and I would be able to do my job again. New things would make me work slower, I accept that but they won't stop me. But I also know that, this update wasn't about Utopian-io doesn't want translation contributions anymore. This stuff is all about the abusers. I know that. And they were right to do something and they were right to do it fast.

  • But the critical point is (for me), why do we leave the area because the hyenas are coming? Let's be lions, act like lions, fight like lions as the people who do their job good. And let's clear 'our' area! If they try to abuse again, we will think another thing, and another, and another... We are the right ones. We are the ones that capable of creating solutions. I just want you to see this sub-text which lays under all this stuff. That's me, I've always been a lion, i want to be again.

So, this is where the project comes out!

  • I assume that all the contributors and authorities know the projects in Crowdin which you can't just go in and start translating.
    Why don't we use same tactic to filter more abusers?

What is the purpose?

PREVENT ABUSE & ABUSERS

For this, what do we need? (From the perspective of my idea.)

First of all we can create a tag or tab like this and contributors can apply for "Joining to Translation Team of 'SomeProject' ".

Project1.png

Translation Teams Page in Utopian-io.

In here, we need to add open source projects as contributors mentioned about them in their posts. (Projects that contributions to them will be rewarded, after checking repo and other things.)
I know that looks so bad but... As i mentioned above, short time issues...
We may place the links of "lists of Translation teams" like this. We add one by one as more project becomes applied for.
TT page proje2.png

  • We don't need to give reward for Translating Application posts.
  • But we need some informations, a template and of course 'some rules'.

How will they apply, what is the application criterias?

  • We need to put a word limit for this method (e,g, 300).
  • People who want to work on translation of 'SomeProject' will translate 300 words.
  • A template may be created but i want to mention about what I thought of.
  • Short information about them, explanation of why do they want to translate this project, do they really know something about the content of project... (Some kind of short CV.)
  • Proof of their translated 300 words.
  • Github and Crowdin Links, Their Activity Links. (Related links as we know.)
  • More things can be added to this template, these are all things came up on my mind at this moment.

And the additional rules:

  • Only contributions that came from the members of projects' translations team members. Others will be rejected immediately.
  • If your contribution gets rejected because of 'poor quality or machine translations' you'll be kicked from that Translations Team.
  • If you get rejected while trying to join the Translations Team once, you can't try again.
  • If you get kicked from 5 Translations Teams, you'll be banned. (numbers may change, just catch the important point.)
  • More rules can be added, they may be more TOUGH, because i know that you are looking for quality. And I also know that human always have fear of get punished.

So I think that will work for keeping quality of works up.

Mockups / Examples

I think I've been explaining for quite long. So i believe that all these explanations are enough. Ask me in comments if there is anything unclear.

But I will write a short workflow for it; There is an introduction about who am I above. So i will write workflow like it's me who is applicant.

Example 1:

e.g Microsoft MakeCode Project. (I have 6 parts approved for this project.)

  • 300 words translated.
  • Introduction - Repo - Crowdin Links are placed.
  • Screenshots and proof
  • Submit

Moderation Process;

  • Words have been translated correctly.
  • Intro is okay.
  • Repo and Links are okay.
  • He knows the content.
  • Good Job, You are in!

Example 2:

e.g Ancap-ch from-en Project

Moderation Process;

  • Words are not bad.
  • Intro is not that much relevant.
  • Repo and Links are okay.
  • He's not the best one to translate it.
  • Sorry, you can't be in the team. Try your chance with another projects.

Benefits and Losses

Cons

There would be many benefits but i will start with losses of this idea which are not so many:

  • There will be probably many applications after these few days.
  • Moderators and maybe Supervisors will need to work kinda harder.
    Maybe more...

Pros

  • User friendly Crowdin will be with us again.
  • People won't lose their time for wrong projects. (Repo and Open Source Problems) Because they will learn the truth when their Translation Application is reviewed.
  • Project owner will get what they wish - Contributors (good ones) will get what they wish Win- Win!
  • Things will be quickly done, proof and work will be easy again.
  • For the long-term,moderation process will be easier just because of filtering.
  • Because of additional rules and punishments quality will always be good.
  • And so on...

Countless benefits, and maybe more losses. But i think that may work. Thanks for reading.

Best Regards~
@alicangec~

FEEL FREE TO SHARE YOUR OPINIONS WITH ME IN COMMENTS. ADD or REMOVE SUGGESTIONS IS IMPORTANT FOR ME.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alicangec from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great suggestion!

Thanks for review and your feedback @sargoon. That's important for me.

I don't believe dealing with so called “abusers” are their problem. They just want to kill the section. Great suggestion anyway thank you

I don't think so, of course they do care.

Great suggestion bro.. Maybe many people actually have different ideas but applying the idea to the plan is a different situation. It needs courage. I think you've proved you are a lion! :) You thought of everything sketchy. I think it's open to development. Good luck..

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @alicangec I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56