You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Contest Hero [0.1.9]

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Thanks for the contribution, @tobias-g! It looks amazing already, I'm actually very impressed - well, I shouldn't really be surprised as I knew beforehand that you were a CSS god.

The amount of work and features that you have put into this first contribution is crazy - amazing job! It's a great example for other contributors as to what is a quality contribution. I'm really interested in using it when the need arises and seeing what kind of contests others come up with. Definitely choosing this as a staff pick, can't wait to see your future development contributions!

A couple of remarks:

  • I tried logging in with a test account and it would just say "You're being logged in, please wait a moment." It works fine when I log in with my main account, so I have no idea what the problem is.
  • It wasn't immediately clear to me what the three icons in the header are after I logged in. Maybe adding a title to it so you can see what they are when hovering over them is a good idea.
  • On your test post the link to the contest doesn't work because it's missing a # in the URL. I haven't really looked into Vue.js much yet, but I think you can remove the # from showing up in URLs and iirc it's recommended to do so (I could be chatting complete shit, I don't know).

Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Awesome feedback, thank you.

I really wanted to build a working product before posting anything, it turns out there is a lot of little things I didn't expect along the way, but it's coming together nicely. This is one of the first things I've built with Vue, so all in all I know there are a few things I need to improve, but it's coming together well. Few more releases and I'll try to build the user base a little more.

In terms of your additional feedback:

I tried logging in with a test account and it would just say "You're being logged in, please wait a moment." It works fine when I log in with my main account, so I have no idea what the problem is.

That's strange, is an error being thrown? I've used two different accounts when testing and didn't see anything like that. Is it logging in via SteemConnect ok on other sites?

It wasn't immediately clear to me what the three icons in the header are after I logged in. Maybe adding a title to it so you can see what they are when hovering over them is a good idea.

Good point, my plan was to revisit the navigation in a later release as I think there will be quite a few new things to add. With that said you're right, something as simple as a hover over will help with that. I have added that in now :)

On your test post the link to the contest doesn't work because it's missing a # in the URL. I haven't really looked into Vue.js much yet, but I think you can remove the # from showing up in URLs and iirc it's recommended to do so (I could be chatting complete shit, I don't know).

100% needed to remove the # from the URL, wasn't really sure what it was, but after looking into it a little more.

The default mode for vue-router is hash mode - it uses the URL hash to simulate a full URL so that the page won't be reloaded when the URL changes.

Changing this to the router to mode: 'history' and then adding https://github.com/bripkens/connect-history-api-fallback to server.js seemed to resolve this nicely. Again I don't know much about this, but somebody reading may have a similar issue and haven't bothered to read the docs like I didn't before you reminded me hah ;)

I put both of those things live a moment ago with a few other fixes I hadn't released yet, thanks again for the feedback :D

Thank you for your review, @amosbastian!

So far this week you've reviewed 13 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99