Private poll bot for Discord

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

About


The name says it all. This bot allows users to create private polls on Discord
When a poll is started, it will send a private message to users in the mentioned group.
Once all users have voted, the bot will present the tallied votes.

How it works


Step 1: User creates a poll using the !vote private command
image.png

Step 2: Bot sends a private message to mentioned users
image.png

Step 3: User votes with the !vote vote command
image.png

Step 4: When all votes are placed, bot displays results
image.png

Technologies


The bot is written in Node.js using the Discordjs plugin

Future


  • Document code
  • Users can stop polls manually
  • Ability to mention multiple users without needing a group
  • Polls that close after an amount of time
  • Improve message contents
  • Implement multiple voting methods (Ranked systems)
  • Users can change their vote before the poll closes

Contribute


Github link: https://github.com/Aree-Vanier/Private-Voting-Bot
Feel free to fork the project, however the code is currently not well documented (Documenting is first priority).
If you know of a good place to host a bot (preferably for free), suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Any bugs can be reported to the issues page on github.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @aree-vanier I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Hi, your bot is very interesting for me, but is the github code complete?
I receive an error, says that he is missing file ./settings.json, do you have an example of that file?
Thank you!

@alexzicky The file is removed to protect my discord token. I added instructions to replace it in the readme: https://github.com/Aree-Vanier/Private-Voting-Bot#settingsjson

Thanks for answering me, I had not seen that part!

@alexzicky I added it after reading your comment. You didn't miss anything.

This comment has received a 6.66 % upvote from @webdeals thanks to: @alexzicky.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

@aree-vanier, No matter approved or not, I upvote and support you.

Thanks for the support!
Edit: I now realise that this is a bot, but this is my first post so I didn't know, and I can't delete this comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84