[Contribution] [Graphics] Logo Design for Smog Alert App

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Banner-4K-Horizontal.png

Repository: https://github.com/Bartozzz/smog-alert-app

Details:

The Smog Alert App is an app which provides air pollution data around the world in real time and it also shows you the nearby polluters. The app has a very good motive behind it and hence I decided to ask permission from the project owner to make a logo and this was the result. The conversation : https://github.com/Bartozzz/smog-alert-app/issues/4

The Concept:

The concept is not simple, it combines many elements together. On your first glance you will notice a geotag behind some black smoke indicating smog. The geotag has an eye embedded in it which looks out for polluters and it also doubles up as an exclamation mark of sort. The exclamation mark correlates with the word "Alert". I used a geotag because the app lets you tag places geographically.

EVO.png

Evolution of the final logo

My first try at making a logo with the said concept was bad but it was enough to convey the concept to the project owner who apparently liked the concept but wanted a better logo so I made a nice proportional logo.

Design Process:

image.png

The first attempt

I usually don't sketch/draw stuff while making logos, I make all the designs in the app itself and improvise.

Video on making the outline:



This video shows how I made the outline of the logo. There was a lot of polishing done afterwards and the end result looked like this:

OUT_SAA.png

I combined the logo with Nunito Font, as they seemed to complement each other well when the weight is set to ultra-bold.

Choosing Colors:

bitmap.png

I chose kind of a smoky black color for the smog cloud and red for the geotag/exclamation mark as alerts usually have red or yellow colored exclamation marks.

Shadows:

Shadows were used by both the geotag and the cloud to show some depth. The smoky black gradient complements the shadows well and emphasizes it subtly. On viewing the source files I provided, on other vector applications, the shadows are messed up for some reason. I still don't know how to get precise shadows on Inkscape. I have to rely on my eye to make sure everything is balanced.

App icon:

Since this logo is designed for an app I needed to make an app icon. I made one with a white background:

GFDFGp.png

Mockups:

Banner-4K-Vertical.png

Banner-4K-Horizontal.png

Banner-4K-Vertical-RED.png

Banner-4K-Horizontal-RED.png

g10200.png
g10220.png
g10240.png
g10179.png
HDH.PNG
bitmGHKHGap.png

Proof:


image.png

PO has added the assets given by me to the repository. ssnjrthegr8 is my github handle

Links:

Sort:  

Hey @arkhamknight ,

Thank you for the contribution. I liked your logo design. Nice with single color. In my opinion gray black and tones of gradient are so similar. I wanted to see your logo design with high contrast colors. I think you could make it with alternative colors.

For example, here I made shadows less visible and used light gray for empty area:

Untitled.png

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Yeah... I should have experimented more and I like how you implemented the shadows! Looks subtle and elegant. I wanted to experiment with more colors but I already took like a lot of time to make the logo lol so I played it safe and finished the logo. Anyway thanks for the input!

Thank you for your review, @baranpirincal!

So far this week you've reviewed 10 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Hi @arkhamknight!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @arkhamknight, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hey, @arkhamknight!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64