You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My OS Steem Projects & Future Plans

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Yes!!!
Your tutorials are absolutely my favorite things that you do. One thing you do well that others don't seem to do is keep each tutorial in its own separate Github thingy.... I've tried a lot of tutorials, and most don't keep the code for Tutorial 1 if the creators have already moved onto Tutorial 5.

Sort:  

Thanks mate, great to hear. I'm pretty excited to step up a gear on tutorials, both learning new things myself and sharing everything I've picked up along the way :)

Thanks for the tip - I'll make a note of keeping each separate part of tutorials as I go through 👊

Awesome... I'm pretty sure you were already doing that.. but yeah, it makes a big difference, and allows your readers to target the tutorials of interest to them.

What sort of areas are you thinking of tutorialising? You know I still check out your bot tutorials a couple of times a month... I'd argue that I've gotten more value out of those guys than anyone else for any other post in the history of the blockchain.

I'm going to go back over the bot tutorials first, see whats changed and add some new ideas. if there's anything specific you think would be useful send them over! Also if there is anything you've found does/doesn't work will with your bots I can include that.

Next is basically everything...

I wrote a long list of ideas a year ago! I have been wanting to focus more on tutorials ever since I left London 3 years ago but have always found excuses to not. Putting that behind me and diving in.

Preferably everything will be wrapped up into small projects. I prefer this style than just learning fundamentals.

Platforms - Ghost, Wordpress, Shopify, Jekyll (+look at newer static site gens - gatsby/vuepress etc)
Fun things - Raspberry Pi, Arduino, games with web-sockets
JS data vis - SVG/D3.js
Frameworks - Rails/Express/Nuxt (currently learning)
Hosting/APIs/Git/

The list gets a bit ridiculous to be honest but that's part of it. I hope to share/explain that this stuff takes time and there is an unending amount of stuff to learn. Take what you can and build as you go.

Hahaha, I can't believe you haven't already completed tutorials for Basically Everything yet... so slack.

I think I went through either your first or second bot tutorial last weekend, and to my surprise it all still worked... it just wasn't exactly what I needed. I've been through a few older tutorials using Dsteem and every single one of them was broken... I'm wondering if Dsteem had to change it's code after HF20.

Personally... I think it would be really handy to have a new, working tutorials on:

  • How to display data from the blockchain
  • How to post to the blockchain
  • How to vote to the blockchain
  • How to hook up SC2 and/or keychain

I've been through a few of the Steem-developers tutorials for JavaScript, and they mostly don't work either. They might be too old, or maybe they hook into testnet (but haven't explained how I would also do that) so they've been pretty useless to me... especially since I'm trying to use React... but there still should be some use in there.

Your boilerplate thing was so good... I honestly loved it... but I also didn't have the prerequisite knowledge to make anything but the most basic of changes. I had never heard of PUG before that... so maybe some tutorials on how to use your boilerplate?

Lots of non-techie Steemians have so many ideas that I think your Boilerplate could really, really help with.

Also.. have you checked out @exhaust? It's more similar to Move Club than Actifit is.. it's all python/dgango, but if that's code that you know I'm sure there's lots to play with there if you were interested...

Hey @aussieninja
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Oh wow. I didn't know this was a thing! Thanks so much @utopian-io and I guess Tykee and/or Mcfarhat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90