Introduction a new Steem/DTube SEARCH Platform

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Introduction:
While asksteem is/was down I thought I needed to write a little Search API by myself and ended up creating a DTube indexing server. This server indexes new posts every minute and once a day everything from the Hot, Trending and New page including every single post of every author.

68747470733a2f2f692e696d6775722e636f6d2f4e6e6a444e526d2e706e67.png

Nothing found?
Due to how DTube and Steemit works it can be that your search won't return anything. This could have multiple reasons. First it is likely that you mistyped or there simply is no Video under the given search. Secondly it is possible that the Video you were searching for doesn't exist anymore. And with that I mean the post is still accessible but the Video got deleted/isn't on DTubes servers anymore. More about that can be found on Reddit : [Old videos won't play]https://www.reddit.com/r/dtube/comments/87g48n/old_videos_wont_play/. Thirdly and the last common option is that our servers simply didn't index the post and it's video - for whatever reason.

How to use this?
It's pretty straight forward: If you are a normal user you can just use this simple GUI I quickly uploaded on GitHub: https://bostrot.github.io/steemsearchapi/ (See the first screenshot).

Why did I write Steem/DTube and not DTube only?
The code can be used for every post type on steemit but I intended to only index DTube posts first.

Features:
Well you can search for an author/steemian, videohash, permlink, description.

Limitations:
It sounds great. And it works pretty good. There are some limitations though: As it uses a SQLite Database json_metadata and every other key is returned as an escaped string. ( Though it is normal for json_metadata to be a String ). Of course a major downside is that not every video has been added which was uploaded before it began indexing. If there is an author/steemian you want to have added it can be done manually, just write me and it'll be done.
Posts will not contain every key from the steemit api. Here is a list of keys that are included. The green ones are commented out and will not be transmitted as they either are dynamic ones or I just don't think they are needed:

68747470733a2f2f692e696d6775722e636f6d2f6e696e6d6b37742e706e67.png

Though this can be done better in a future update.

EDIT:
Before I forget it, here is my Discord Channel: https://discordapp.com/invite/fZvGq3D.

Sort:  

Yooo big up. Upvote me to. Thx

It's my pleasure to help.

Finally a reliable search api. Thanks!

Anytime. That's what I'm here for.

Great! I will use it in the future.

How's your day been?

No, that is your name, what is mine?

I don't want to tell you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73