Users in Spanish can see their private keys again

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Issue

The issue fixed was found in this bug report on Utopian.io. It prevented users on Steemit with their account language set to Spanish from viewing their private keys on Steemit. This is the relevant GitHub issue I created on the Condenser project that mirrors the bug report on Utopian.

Solution

After digging through the structure of Condenser (I was unfamiliar with the code base), I located the problem in the ShowKey class. Then, because the problem only happened in the Spanish language, and there were no conditional statements about the language in ShowKey, I knew it had to come from the locale files. So, I dug into the Spanish locale file and found that the values userkeys_jsx.public_something_key and userkeys_jsx.private_something_key were trying to reference another value called count that didn't exist. I compared this to the other locale files and changed count to key, which fixed the problem.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Good job, also none of the other locales had that bug.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +UP

Hey @bruce-forks I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49