ScreenshotGo; Taking and Organizing Screenshots

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Repository

https://github.com/mozilla-tw/ScreenshotGo/


Introduction

Hello! I guess you've been watching the African Cup Of Nations.😅
I know it's interesting, but there's an application which you should know about. An application which you need to install. Don't worry, it's a very simple but unique application.

Going through my screenshots, I currently have nothing less than 760 screenshots. I'm much aware that you probably have four times as much as mine. But then, how do you sort them? I take screenshots a lot, and these screenshots are about different topics. I could take a screenshot of an inspirational picture, and in the next minute, I could take the screenshot of a yummy plate of food.

Classifying these screenshots has always been the issue to me. I really dislike the fact that all these screenshots are classified under one class (screenshots), irrespective of the fact that the should be differentiated. A few days ago, I came across this unique application by the name of ScreenshotGo.
I've always needed an application like this but never found one. Finally, I came across this unique app that solves my challenges of classifying screenshots.
Please let me elaborate more on the ScreenshotGo app.


What Is ScreenshotGo?

screenshot

I'll tell ya. The ScreenshotGo is simply a lightweight android application which has been helping me categorize my screenshots into different collections.
The app lets users take and organize screenshots easily on their Android device.

The ScreenshotGo app was pre-released on September 25, 2018, and has had a total of 10 releases since then. The latest version of the app is version 0.8. It weighs only 2.95 MB and can be directly downloaded by clicking Here.


Features Of ScreenshotGo

  • Quick Access: The first feature on the ScreenshotGo app is the quick access feature. The quick access feature allows users to quickly access all of their screenshots. No matter where the screenshots are embedded in the user's device, the app finds them. That's crazy, right? But it's cool too. When the app is launched, only a few of the user's screenshots are shown. If the user wants to quickly access/view all their screenshots, they'll have to click on the 'view all' option, which will then show all the screenshots on their device.

When I launched the app, I was eager to see all my screenshots, so I clicked on the 'view all' option. All my screenshots were shown to me, and they were easily accessible. One of the quick access subfeatures that amazed me was the 'screenshot info' feature. With the 'screenshot info' feature, users can be aware of the screenshot's name, size, and last edit (date taken).
Aside from the 'screenshot info' feature, I discovered that there are some other subfeatures like text recognition, move to, share, and delete.

  • Take Screenshots: The ScreenshotGo app is not just about the classification of the user's screenshots. Users can also take screenshots using the ScreenshotGo app. How's that? Well, it's pretty simple. Once the app is launched, it automatically adds the screenshot icon on the user's screen. This icon allows users to take a screenshot with one tap.

The screenshot feature isn't compulsory. Just in case the user doesn't like it, they can turn it off. Hence, the screenshot icon won't be hovering on their screen anymore.

Well, if you'd ask me, I think the screenshot icon is cool and shouldn't be turned off. Why? I launched the app and used this feature, and because the icon was from the app, I was prompted to add the screenshot to a collection. If I had used a different method to perform the screenshot, I wouldn't have been prompted.
Besides, the average Android user long presses on the volume down and power buttons to perform a screenshot. It's not a bad idea, but I find it a bit stressful compared to a click on an icon. With this screenshot feature, all I ought to do is to click on the icon.

  • Collections: The 'collections' feature is more like the main feature of the app, it allows the users to categorize their screenshots. Unlike other features, the 'collections' feature is pretty simple to use.
    On the 'collections' feature, there's an option which users can use to create a new collection. Users can add screenshots to their new collection by long pressing on a screenshot and moving it to the collection. Just in case the user wants to add several screenshots to a collection, there's an option for that.

The 'collections' feature is what I've always needed. I created my first collection and named it 'Inspiration'. I created this collection with the intent of categorizing all screenshots with inspirational content there. After I had created the collection, I went to the list of my unsorted screenshots and selected the screenshots I wanted to add into this category.
You can categorize your screenshots in any way you prefer. As for me, I'm more concerned about my screenshots with inspirational contents.

  • Search: The search feature is one feature you wouldn't want to miss. The search feature is a unique feature which can find screenshots by their texts. It is located at the top of the app's home screen. Though this unique feature isn't functioning yet, I believe the PO is working towards the full implementation of the feature. Stay tuned for it and a lot more upcoming features. 😉

How Unique Is ScreenshotGo And What App Can It Be Compared With?

ScreenshotGo is absolutely a unique project. There are a lot of Screenshot taking applications, but neither of them is able to categorize screenshots into collections. Even as a web surfer, I can't find any app which can help me categorize my screenshots. All the other applications would just take a screenshot and that's it. Even my device can't categorize my screenshots; all it does is to compact all my screenshots in one folder (irrespective of their differences).


Conclusion

Though I always needed an app like this, I never saw this coming. Therefore, this is such a good blow. Kudos to the PO.


My GitHub Account

Chrisbarth01

Sort:  

Thank you for promoting this simple application. The project is indeed useful, considering the few available features. Plus, I like the new improvement on your visuals. They look more attractive now. However, I have a few issues with the post.

First, the app is not a sport-related app, and I see no reason to start the introduction with a sporting event. That is not by any means in line with the purpose of the post. Also, you highlighted search as a unique feature, and you still mentioned that it is not working. What is unique in a feature that is not even working? Besides, the search is a common feature, and it is not unique. Finally, the app is a basic app and seems simple to use. I recommend you pick a more advanced project to review in your next post.

Further, the post had some proofreading issues. I suggest that you check for issues in your texts thoroughly before publishing.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Hi @chrisbarth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @chrisbarth!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94