Suggestion: boost the steemit SEO with schema markup

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

In my previous post, I noticed that there was a little bug in the schema.org markup of steemit posts.

While poking around I figured that I might just as well do something about the lack of information in that markup also. Notice the lack of data in the current markup (13 December 2017):

Steemit - no markup.png

Proposal

I think that the three main improvements could be done with the entities: article, comment and author.

Note for the attentive reader: Screenshots below are taken from a dev instance and URLs might reflect that.

Author

This one is pretty straight forward and I think that the current markup looks pretty complete and sane.
Author markup

Comment

Comment markup

Blog

I've taken the freedom of referring to the author's feed of articles as the Blog while blogPost refers to the actual article on the page.

As for the errors below, please see the related Task Request for discussions and questions.

Blog markup



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I see a great Steemian in the makings!

Welcome @dennisalund, I'm following you.

Fully Upvoted to encourage you to keep going, keep creating, and keep promoting Steem.

I have a number of Indonesian readers on my post, you should connect up with them, go here:

15 Powerful Persuasive Tips To Guarantee A Respond on Steemit - Part 3

Thank you, I really appreciate the encouragement. I think steemit is a great platform that has huge potential. But more important than that, I've found a very supportive and passionate community here.

Your contribution cannot be approved yet. See the Utopian Rules. Please edit your contribution to reapply for approval.

Hi, I can't approve this for the follow reasons:

  • This is not a Suggestion.
  • This is a Development but the current rules is Only merged Pull Requests will be accepted
  • You can't ask for help here, for that is Task Requests

I recommend you to edit this contribution to fit in Suggestions, like "Suggestion: improve the SEO in Steemit" or something like that.
And then you can make another contribution in Task Requests asking for help, and when your pull request is approved you can make a Development contribution,

You may edit your post here, as shown below:

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Oh, my apologies. I'm still learning the what's what with both steemit and #utopian-io.

So according to the suggestions, I've edited the original article above and opened a Task Request here: Looking for an SEO expert to help improving steemit schema markup

Hi, maybe I did not explain myself well.
You, only can contribute in Development if the pull request was approved, so this can not be in Development.
With this post you can make a Suggestion, but you need to suggest something.

Suggestions are minor features/enhancements that you would like to have in an Open Source project.

Please, come to Discord if i'm not clear here.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Great post! SEO is so important to boost ranking. I have written some great SEO articles that may interest you.

Thank you,
Spencer Coffman
SpencerCoffman.com

Thanks Spencer, have you posted those articles here Steemit also? I'd be happy to read and up-vote the good stuffs here.

No worries, I'll answer that myself. I found them on your profile blog.

Yes, sorry, I have them posted on Steemit. Every article that is on my website will also be on Steemit as I post them to my site after posting them to Steemit.

I am working to post a new article every 3 days. They will be on a variety of topics including health, marketing, relaxation, fitness, SEO, social media, money, et cetera.

Thanks for your interest!
Spencer Coffman

Congratulations @dennisalund! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey @dennisalund I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47