You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing SteemMakers - The first community for makers and DIYers on steem

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Seems like a good idea, but I would like to see content not citing Google and other websites
as "the source". This is copyright infringement and also does not give attribution to the photographers. The source is always a photographer and/or a stock agency, but could be some copyright free site like Pixabay. . Legitimate websites pay a licensing fee to use stock imagery, so if you want to avoid having to deal with DMCA notices on your website and avoid liability, you will need to state openly that copyright infringement will not be tolerated, and you will have to educate users about copyright in order for your website to become a Safe Harbor. If you don't , your website will also be held liable for copyright infringement! Unfortunately, the worst copyright infringement I have ever seen is here on Steemit, and I would love to see that change!

Sort:  

That's plain obvious. Every post will be manually curated to try to avoid this and other issues as well. Did we make a mistake here? Or why are you bringing this up?

The idea is making it yourself, doing it yourself. Copying is the last thing we want.

Oh, no mistake. Sorry if it sounded that way. It was not plain obvous to me I'm afraid. :-( Was just commenting because I wasn't sure if the whole "make it yourself" extended to the images in the blog as well. I guess I'm bringing it up because it's a sticky point with me, as some of my my own stock images have been abused on Steemit - no licensing fee paid and wrong image source given. What you are doing sounds awesome, then. You have my vote! :-)

That SHOULD be obvious to anyone. You can't just take whatever you find in google and add a link to it. That doesn't make it right. There are laws that need to be respected and there are photographers, writers, digital artists, ... that need to be respected. I am very aware of this and very critical as well.

I'm not making this up to please you. Check my old blog post that has a section about this: https://steemit.com/steem/@jefpatat/can-steem-it-survive-its-problems

That being said it will be a challenge to make sure we respect these rights. There is one big advantage our community has. We tend to make pictures of what we made, which is unique by definition.

We are talking at cross purposes. LOL! I have blogged quite a bit about copyright infringement, but those posts are not terribly popular. I am currently working on a post about Image SOURCE. LOL! I didn't mean that it wasn't obvious it is wrong to use Googled images. LOL! I meant that it wasn't obvious to me at first that you are protecting the rights of photographers too! So sorry to have misunderstood! Sadly, I am so used to being shouted at for defending photographers' LEGAL rights. I loved the post you linked to. We are on the same side of this issue, so I am even more excited about your project! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89