You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Tutorial]: Running ReactOS inside Windows on your Computer

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Oh ho ho ho! I will definitely be checking out QEMU! I have been slogging with Virtualbox when I needed to, but it was never a pleasant experience.

I love the idea of an opensource windows-esque OS! Of course open source is beautiful, but the times I have tried to go full linux, usually my wife blames me for making the computer unuseable. A middle ground product is fantastic :)

This tutorial seems very complete! A real boon for the project to have such a complete tutorial; next time I want to see what you can do with it c;

Sort:  

It might take a while before it is ready for every day use, as not all Windows software is running correctly (or at all) right now. However, I hope that one day it will be this. A drop-in replacement for Windows that is Open Source ;)

Linux is great, only if you can/want to change your way of working your computer.

Thank you for your comment :)

Yeah, linux almost seemed life a lifestyle change, but I did learn enough useful bash that I can get around on linux servers.

I seems that open source development would have to outpace the paid development to 'catch up'; windows has nearly daily updates to its windows 10 OS, or at least it seems that way sometimes.

Is there a middle ground that could be reached for running windows software?

Windows' Updates will be issued in a more distant manner from now on (at least that's what Microsoft announced).

Linux is a complete lifestyle change, in a sense it is like leaving a company that you were employed by, to form your own!

Depends on what software you run, WINE may suit you, but it won't work with all software. Care to share some software you use to help you see if it can suit you?

Hey @ecoinstant
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82