You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Catching the Uncatchable: The Uncanny Valley of Photo Plagiarism and ConArtistry

in #utopian-io5 years ago

That was the most bizarre case I have seen in a while.

When it comes to artistic expressions, we have seen people doing a range of things. I have seen copy/paste to some minor alterations to the original. Now, this is something I have never encountered before.

People have varying definition between what is inspiration and art paraphrasing. In this case, the photos here are not original work. They are products of a new technology. Since the real "author" is inorganic, I do not think the concept of attribution excludes it.

The user highlighted in this story surprised me by coming forward. Well, after a mild confrontation. This is the type we need to worry about the least. As long as they do not present the GAN-generated images as original work of their own, there should be no issue.

I don't know about others, but I have learned something new here today.

Keep up the good work @jaguar.force!


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Can statistical analysis show that an image is GAN-generated? Anyone here know?

I do not have any knowledge in regards to that topic.

No worries.

You catch a lot less fish if you never get your lure in the water.

Maybe I'll get a bite if I'm lucky.

Thank you for your review, @enforcer48! Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89