Witness Chronicle - How Steem reward is computed ? / Comment fonctionne le calcul de la récompense sur Steem ?

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody. Bonjour à tous (le texte français est en bas d'article (nouvelle règle utopian).

This blog post is an answer of this one (Bug reward SBD/SP). I explain to my french fellows how the reward value is really computed and I give two tips.
TLDR : Rewards should not be calculated as Steemit and busy do.



A few days ago, @deadzy explained the following problem to me.(Bug reward SBD/SP).
It describes what seems to be an inconsistency between the displayed reward and the amount of Steem Dollar earned.
After studying the question, I decided to share the information with you.

A problem with currency symbol

On Steemit, On Steemit as on Busy, there is a small problem in the display.

image.png

Yes, it's the $ symbol (USD)... Because in reality, it's not dollar, but steem dollar.

image.png
Lien: Steemd

In theory, it's not very annoying. Except when a Steem Dollar is worth more than 10 Dollars.

With an example

With my previous publication (Chronique d'un witness du 14/12), I earned 13.94 Steem Dollars.

image.png


** Yeah ! I earned 139.94 Dollars**

When you look for more, you realize that something is wrong.

image.png

If I have the right amount of Steem Dollar, the one in Steem Power doesn't seem to match.
With a Steem Dollar* / Steem Power parity around 3.66, I should have gotten 25.5 Steem Power.

A bug in the conversion process ?

The previous reflection is correct... except there's a bug.
A bug called Steem Dollar to more than 10 Dollars.

Take a look in the Steemit FAQ.

What do the dollar amounts for pending payouts represent?
(...) The blockchain estimates the dollar value of STEEM and STEEM Power based on the 3.5 day average price of STEEM reported by the witnesses. The blockchain assumes Steem Dollars are worth approximately one USD.



Did you find it ? The blockchain considers that a Steem Dollar is worth about 1 Dollar**.

But it doesn't fit the reality anymore.

I won neither 13.94 Dollars nor 139.4 Dollars, but 99.81 Dollars.

See the detail.
I divide 13.94 *Steem Dollars * by two and I get

  • 6.97 Steem Dollars (at the rate of 13.32 Dollars) => 92.84 Dollars
  • 6.97 Steem Dollars (equivalent US Dollar) = > 6.97 Dollars

few tips

When the Steem Dollars is above 1 Dollar **and ** higher than Steem, it is preferable to :

  • NEVER choose the 100% Steem Power option. You'll lose a part of your reward.
  • NEVER use the conversion (Steemi has already disable it).

For the story, this is also why Steemit has enabled the 50/50 option in the comment section.


La partie Française




Il y a quelques jours, @deadzy m'a exposé ce problème (Bug reward SBD/SP).
Il décrit qui semble être une incohérence entre la récompense affichée et la quantité de Steem Dollar gagnée.
Après avoir étudié la question, j'ai décidé de vous partager l'information.

Un problème d'affichage

Sur Steemit comme sur Busy, il y a un petit problème dans l'affichage.

image.png

Oui, il s'agit du signe $ (USD)... Car en réalité, ce n'est pas du Dollar, mais du Steem Dollar

image.png
Lien: Steemd

En théorie, ce n'est pas très fâcheux. Sauf quand un Steem Dollar vaut plus de 10 Dollars.

Prenons un exemple

Pour mon article (Chronique d'un witness du 14/12). J'ai gagné 13.94 Steem Dollars

image.png


** Youpi, j'ai gagné 139.4 Dollars**


Quand on creuse un peu la chose, on se rend compte que quelque chose ne va pas.

image.png

Si j'ai bien le bonne quantité de Steem Dollar, celle en Steem Power ne semble pas correspondre.
Avec une parité Steem Dollar / Steem Power autour de 3.66, j'aurais dû obtenir 25.5 Steem Power

Un bug de conversion ?

La réflexion précédente est juste... sauf qu'il y a un bug.
Un bug qui s'appelle Steem Dollar à plus de 10 Dollars.

Prenons la FAQ de Steemit.

What do the dollar amounts for pending payouts represent?
(...) The blockchain estimates the dollar value of STEEM and STEEM Power based on the 3.5 day average price of STEEM reported by the witnesses. The blockchain assumes Steem Dollars are worth approximately one USD.



Vous l'avez ? La blockchain considère qu'un Steem Dollar vaut environ 1 Dollar.

Mais ça ne correspond plus à la réalité.

Je n'ai gagné ni 13.94 Dollars ni 139.4 Dollars, mais 99.81 Dollars.

Voici le détail.
On divise 13.94 Steem Dollars par deux et on obtient

  • 6.97 Steem Dollars (au taux de 13.32 Dollars) => 92.84 Dollars
  • 6.97 Steem Dollars (équivalent US Dollar) = > 6.97 Dollars

Quelques conseilles

Lorsque le Steem Dollars est au dessus de 1 Dollar **et **supérieur au Steem, il est préférable de

  • ne JAMAIS opter pour l'option 100% Steem Power. Vous y perdrez des plumes.
  • ne JAMAIS utiliser l'option conversion (ça tombe bien, Steemit l'a retiré pour cette raison)

Pour l'anecdote, c'est aussi pour ça que Steemit a activé l'option 50/50 dans la partie commentaire.


Vous pouvez me trouver sur steemit. chat et sur les serveurs discord de @francosteemvotes (https://discord.gg/XFGr4jG) / PAL / Busy


Si vous souhaitez me soutenir et que vous avez encore des droits de vote pour les witness, n'hésitez à voter pour moi via steemit ou plus simplement par SteemConnect

image.png



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Good post.
Follow and upvote me https://steemit.com/@devart/
Thanks buddy.

Génial merci Evil' encore plus clair qu'en privé. J'ai plus aucune question ahah

Thank you for your contribution.
Blog post contributions are required to be written in English.
Please include your English content in addition to your French text, so as we can revisit your submission.
See the Utopian Rules.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Le bug, c'est quand même Steem qui considère que 1 Steem Dollar est égal à un Dollar.

J'adore d'un point de vue financier mais ça tue le "principe" de Steem...
Je ne sais pas trop comment on pourrait régler ce soucis.

On pourrait imaginer que les witness ne publient pas le prix réel du Steem/USD mais une sorte de prix correspondant à la paire Steem/SBD.

Ou alors un fork pourque Steem admette la valeur réelle du Steem Dollar.

Je pense que la seconde option est la plus évidente selon moi. Du coup les manipulations de cours n'auraient aucun impact (à part si tu stockes tes SBD pendant des semaines avant le PUMP)

Super explication !

Merci pour ces précisions. Il serait bien que ce genre de changement fasse l'objet de communication détaillée et plus visible car ce n'est pas le premier changement de ce type que j'ai pu voir. Tu sais si c'est prévu d'une manière ou d'une autre ?

Il n'y a pas eu de changement. Je pense que ça a toujours fonctionné comme ça.
C'est juste que vu l'augmentation du Steem Power, la valeur de la récompense n'a plus trop de sens.

Deux possibilités :

  • revoir la valeur affichée (ne plus l'exprimer en Steem Dollar).
  • faire en sorte que la blockchain prenne en compte la valeur marchande du Steem Dollar.

Je précise bien changement "de ce type" car j'ai l'impression qu'avant j'avais plus de latitudes que maintenant dans la répartition de mes gains de création de contenu, au moment de leur publication. Mais vu que j'étais en phase de découverte je me trompe certainement.

Plus de latitude ?
Je ne suis pas certain de bien comprendre.

Il me semble qu'il y a toujours eu trois modes de récompense :

  • 100% steem power
  • 50/50
  • decline

D'accord, du coup c'est bien une erreur de ma part. Merci pour la confirmation :)

Génial génial génial. Tu me crois si je te dis que depuis quelques jours je me disais que c'était bizarre je me suis dit que j'allais te demander pourquoi puis j'ai zappé. Donc merci merci.

J'avoue que c'est vraiment Space.
Du coup, Janie bien envie de faire un peut site pour donner la valeur d'une publication.
Mais ça ne pourrait se faire que le cours actuel du Steem.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @evildido I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86