You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing DiscordSteem! | A Cool New Discord Bot

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Very cool to see you make this bot! I like it :D I got some feedback for you anyways.
I would probably make the info command show a lot more information. For one part I do think that you should display at least one more digit to the reputation as especially when you are in the higher range, your reputation doesn't change for a long time, and it would be disappointing to only see the full number ;)
Also, I would highly recommend you to show the SBD and STEEM in the savings as well for the info command. You could make this for example by making it like that (as a return to ?info steemit in the STEEM Balance field): 2,000,000.580 (2,806,644.632) STEEM
I think the vested balance is also a very important piece of information on the steem blockchain that should be included in an info command. e.g. @utopian-io doesn't really look that "good" if you only see it's balance, but not it's SP :P
Now a little coding advice for you, that you could make use of in the future. Consider using the logging module (documentation) instead of printing the different things to the console. That makes it way more flexible and you'll just have a more convenient experince with logging stuff in the execution of your program.
Also, as far as I know, it's recommended to use other string formatting methods as they are easier to read and maybe have some other advantages as well. Instead of "These are last %s comments of %s" % (amount, username) you could just make it look that way: f"These are last {amount} comments of {username}". I think this is way more readable and highly improves your code look. @scipio made a tutorial on that way of formatting strings, and there is plenty of documentation for it as well if you want to look into it more. :)
On a final note: why did you change your name? "Some difficulties" isn't that much information ;)
Thank you for reading that wall of text,
Schwein
PS: I'm not a professional developer, and if any of the information I provided is wrong, please forgive me. :)

Sort:  

Thanks for writing this feedback. I just added another commit, bot now uses F-Strings. I have also added that you can now see SP using the !info command as well. I haven't used logging yet because I don't have that much experience in it but I will consider it in future. Thanks again : )

Hey @flugschwein
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74