Node.js steem bot which upvotes new posts in specified categories

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Steem category upvoting bot

I have created this bot, because i wanted to help people who post in the categories that I am pationate about, but I did not have time to upvote the posts that I liked and I felt bad constantly sitting on 99% Voting Power. Upvoting bots already exist, however they might have payed features and most of them just upvote all posts from people you specify. I do not like that, because the new people in the categories would not have a chance to make a popular post, if everybody used upvoting bots that would just upvote the veterans of a certain category. I have found SteemFOSSBot on github, but I have found out that it would just upvote popular posts from all categories and it would not follow what I set up in the algorithm section at all.

I had two options either go through someone elses code and try to make sense of it and adapt the SteemFOSSBot or write my own bot and learn a bit about the steem api in the process. I chose the second option.

I ended up with a relatively useful bot which comes with a fully commented code and works rather well so I decided to share it with the comunity, so anyone could use it or learn from the code.

You can specify:

  • The minimum and maximum age of the post
  • How many upvotes it should have
  • How low can your voting power get
  • How many posts should it fetch
  • The tags of the categories you want the bot to sweep
  • The weight of you vote
    You have to give it your steem name and your private posting key.

Technologies used

I have used steem api and node.js. The bot is completely written in javascript and the whole code is commented.

Future of the project

I would like to add more features like checking the contents of a post and maybe word blacklist in order to make it able to choose the posts which it upvotes a bit better. It now decides based on the age of a post and how many people upvoted it.

How to help

Fell free to clone the repository and code away, you can also contact me on github or here on utopian or steemit and we can definitely work something out. Be careful, that you do not push your private posting key to github, it is very hard to remove.

Here is the link to the git repository.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved. There are a lot of common code which is written, please try to write more code with more features in your next contribution which will be useful for the Utopian users

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Very good and understanding code. I was wondering if it could be added reblog for upvoted posts? But code I found on git seems doesn't work:
https://github.com/steemit/steem-js/issues/163

I will take a look and try to implement resteeming, but first I have to replenish my voting power. I hope that I could get to work on the bot this weekend again. Thanks for the suggestion, by the way.

You re welcome, I will try again to make this code work, maybe this time I'll have more luck.

Hey @jtomes123 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71