You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Journey through the understanding of particle physics - One

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Great write-up! I have a couple of comments. But only a couple. Please don't take them personally. I really enjoyed what you write! My point is to show where you have room for improvements :)

Particle overlap (confusion between pairs of detected particles) must be detected and result in one of the particle candidate to be dismissed. This is done by analyzing the relationship between the 2 candidates, such as the angular distance measured at detector level.

In fact, we remove the overlap to end up with particle that are isolated from each other. We want clean signatures. Of course, I didn't fully address isolation yet (this is for next week) but I wanted to add you an appetizer ;)

All these misidentifications leads to a component of the background to any signal: fakes. Most of the times these are smallish, but sometimes, they can be dominant;

Particle transverse momentum which is the component of the particle momentum (mass * velocity) in the plane perpendicular to the collision beam.

Here, everything is relativistic. The p = mv relation has to be modified accordingly.

Finally, I think your post would benefit to be divided in different sections, facilitating the reading for anyone not familiar with the topic :)

Sort:  

No problem, I was definitely looking for corrections and improvements so any criticism is most welcome.

In fact, we remove the overlap to end up with particle that are isolated from each other. We want clean signatures. Of course, I didn't fully address isolation yet (this is for next week) but I wanted to add you an appetizer ;)

I will add a note about isolation.

Here, everything is relativistic. The p = mv relation has to be modified accordingly.

Ah, didn't think about that. I read about it before but it didn't cross my mind. Will correct the text.

Finally, I think your post would benefit to be divided in different sections, facilitating the reading for anyone not familiar with the topic :)

Good idea. I will revise the structure of the post.

You have to think more to any other potential readers than to me. This is the key: they know less than you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91