Absurd positioning of steemplus v2.17.3 icon on steemit and clicking the icon doesn't perform expected action unless it is opened in a new tab.

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Project Information

Expected Behaviour

Steemplus extension when enabled, creates an icon on steemit where a user can logon or logoff. Prior to opening this issue, the icon was beside the main toolbar and it is expected that clicking that icon should enable me login or logoff the extension.

Actual Behaviour

The steemplus icon now rests on top of my profile avatar and hovering my mouse indicates that clicking it should enable me login, however clicking it reveals my profile menu which is the same feedback that is expected from clicking my profile avatar.

Currently the only way to login or logoff the extension is to hover over the icon, right click and open a new tab which will redirect me to steemconnect.

Steps to reproduce

  • install and enable steemplus extension
  • login in to steemit
  • check to see steemplus icon is available. If not, reload webpage.
  • if icon is available click the icon and it performs the operation as though profile avatar was clicked.

The re-positioning could be due to the fact that some UI changes were implemented on steemit, this is noticeable in the number of upvotes button, number of comments etc which are now green in color although these changes shouldn't affect the steemplus button.

Test environment

  • Browser: Google Chrome v 66.0.3359.181
  • Operating system: Windows 7 Professional
  • Software Version: Steemplus v2.17.3

Recording of the bug

Sort:  

Hi @madskill,
This is to inform you that this account has been blacklisted (Banned) and will no longer receive utopian review.
We noticed that this account is a duplicate account of a user who was recently banned (Kodeblacc). To proof this, I will provide you a screenshot :


Source

  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPkcMIiv7Dg madskill
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hWUnbDZCQ5s kodeblacc

Comparing both screenshots, we noticed that this report was made on the same environment as Kodeblaccs'.

You are strongly advised to not create another account for posting via utopian as we will definitely notice in no time which could lead to a downvote.
Thank you.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Oh good, someone else noticed it too. I am not a bugs mod, but this seems to lack all and any analysis of the issue to find underlying cause for the visual bug (I blame bad css). In addition, there's an issue with wallet functions being displayed badly. @stoodkev , I might be too lazy to write a proper bug report, but I am waiting eagerly for a fix.

Wallet issue:

I really don't know what caused the issue as I'm not much a dev. I just explained the issue as plain and concise as I would have.

Have you considered using standard debugging tools for visual bugs on web apps and services?

Then perhaps the Utopian guidelines should reflect the necessity of analysis using such tools in submissions to the category. Thank you for (unintentionally) drawing my attention to this issue.

P.S. Try using rightclick on the problematic element then selecting "inspect". Should show you the code causing the glitch, and if you're a QA professional for web applications (which I am not), you should know how to read, find the issue and pinpoint what needs to be fixed.

Like I said I'm not much a professional however when I inspected it, I think the cause of this is that the steemplus icon is now aligned with the drop down menu that's why clicking the steemplus icon perform same operation as the drop down menu.

I understand. As I said, thank you for drawing my attention to this. I think the guidelines and template need to be a lot clearer of what is expected in a bug submission. I will do my best to work with the community managers to fix that.

This bug was seen by pretty much anyone using the extension, but out of thousands of users, many of them using Utopian, you were the first to notice and report it to the developer, and I want to congratulate you on a job well done.

But It is presented in a somewhat confusing manner. The entire behaviors can be "I expected the login button to be between the post and profile buttons" and actual behavior "The button appeared above the profile button and couldn't be pressed in current window".

You could've explained this bug in few words, instead you opted for long descriptive sentences... Sometime, more is less, you know? This is such case...

Yea I could have done that but I've seen cases where less is considered not detailed enough. So does this mean my report is invalid?

Congratulations @madskill! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01