You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing the SteemCommunity Organization

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Great initiative. Been meaning to read up on the codebase and maybe look at parts of the codebase from a security perspective. Just looked at part of the code for the first time ever, so I might be a bit off on some of my remarks here, but at first glance, it looks like adding a few compiler flags to the code quality checks you discussed might not hurt the code. I was unable to check this thoroughly, as I didn't (don't) get a working commandline compile working on seperate cpp files due to an include of hardfork.hpp that I don't know where to get from.

The thing that jumped out at me most were some things that to me looked like code quality issues that the -Weffc++ compiler flag of the GNU compiler should be able to catch. Two other code quality checking flags I suspect could yield usefull improvement hits would be -Wshadow and -Wold-style-cast. Each of these three flags, I know from experience could potentially end up exposing bugs with security implications. As said, I couldn't really check because of the hardfork.hpp include.

Think I'll try to get acquainted with the codebase a bit over the coming weeks to see if I can get its structure and coding philosophy internalized.

Sort:  

Awesome stuff! The compile flags are set inside the makefiles that I didn't touch so far. But I noticed that a linter found a few hundred potential issues. I plnned to play around with the internals over the coming weeks.

If you have compile issues, talk to me on discord, I can help.

And if you give me your github username, I add you to the project as a potential reviewer.

Give me a few weeks to get better acquainted with the code base. Want to first figure out if I'dd rather be proposing or reviewing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83