You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Analysis] The factors influencing Steem's retention rate

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Pretty interesting analysis here and one that dug deeper from Paulag's post on the churn rate and this is awesome.

interesting that using certain apps will have an effect in retention maybe because of the upvote that they get from those especially Busy and Esteem which depending on followers and good-karma choosing it as a post of the day could be very high.

I have to agree with your assessment that community and niche driven delegation, moderation and curation is the way to go.

Although I read in a post somewhere that Sneak of Steemit inc can hardly care about the people that are here now because this is but an experiment before SMTs roll out. I never liked sneak and what he stands for so I might be a bit bias on my dislike of him,

BTW would you be interested to work on a Steem condenser project?

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment !

The upvotes the users get from Busy or eSteem must have an impact on retention, it joins the last "payout" factor. It's hard to tell, for a given user, which factor has played a role in his staying on Steem.

I never heard about Sneak (just saw he's with Steemit Inc. after researching a bit) but Steemit Inc. sure doesn't seem to care that much about Steemit. It' understandable as they see the Steem Blockchain as their product and not Steemit.
But the problem (in my opinion) is that Steem is linked to Steemit, and without Steemit, Steem may have no utility. The Steem blockchain wouldn't be used if there was no Steemit. Detaching completely Steem from Steemit might be good but it's a risk to take, it might also kill Steem and Steemit altogether.

And yes, there are already projects based on the Steem blockchain (dtube, dlive, zappl, etc.) but I'm talking about them too when I say Steemit. I'm talking more globally about the social networking apps that are based on the Steem blockchain. And I also think that the success of Dtube, DLive etc. depends greatly on their integration into Steemit.
So I think I agree with you (and disagree with Sneak).

PS : I might be interested, but I would need to hear more details about this.

Yes because the vote from those condensers can be quite substantial and can make the difference of having some votes instead of zero votes.

But the problem (in my opinion) is that Steem is linked to Steemit, and without Steemit, Steem may have no utility. The Steem blockchain wouldn't be used if there was no Steemit. Detaching completely Steem from Steemit might be good but it's a risk to take, it might also kill Steem and Steemit altogether.

I agree with you on this and it is a too big of a risk and might make Steem lose its First Mover Advantage on being a social networking app that is decentralized and have different condensers and platforms.

I hope we can discuss further the projects I have in mind that is more based on community initiatives. You can contact me through discord maverickinvictus#9479

I agree with you on this and it is a too big of a risk and might make Steem lose its First Mover Advantage on being a social networking app that is decentralized and have different condensers and platforms.

Couldn't have said it better !

I added and contacted you on Discord, looking forward to exchange some ideas !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81