Steem2Fiat - A Google Chrome extension to visualize payouts in USD

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Steem2Fiat

image.png

Steem2Fiat is a Google Chrome extension that makes it easy to visualize current payouts in USD. It leverages the CoinMarketCap API to make sure you are getting the most up-to-date and accurate price information. Then it annotates posts, comments, and your feed to display the payouts of everything published - so you can see them at a glance.

This is incredibly valuable when it comes to showing off Steemit to potential new members. The dollar signs used currently are confusing and misleading, the real world values of these posts are MUCH higher and hopefully always will be. By better communicating the value of Steemit to new members, this contribution will hopefully help drive more people to the Steemit platform.

Features to come:

  • Customize Fiat Currency (USD, GBP, EUR, etc.)
  • Select multiple price sources (Bittrex, Poloniex, etc.)
  • Expand support to other Steem sites (ChainBB, Utopian.io, etc.)

The project isn't in the Chrome Apps Store yet, but will be later after more features are added :)

The idea for Steem2Fiat came from a conversation sparked by this post. I thought about it and realized that changing Steemit wasn't enough - we would want a solution that would work across all sites running on the Steem blockchain. We would also want to sync the user's preferences (Price source, Local Currency) across all of these sites. I'd done a few Chrome extensions before, so this solution felt natural to me, and I'm very happy with how it turned out. Check out the images below!

Before

image.png

After

image.png

Commits:

One
Two
Three

Proof

image.png



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

This is so cool I've been wanting this for quite some time.

I attempted to install this from the Chrome extensions store, but the package failed to load saying it was missing an icon file. I'd love to try it, so I look forward to a fix!

Hmm. I just got the same error. Let me get back to you in a few minutes.


Edit: Just published a new version which should fix the issue. Whenever 1.0.2 becomes available (should be before EoD) in the web store it should be good. Sorry about that!

Great, thank you! I'll check it out as soon as it's live!

Everything's cool, but your calcualtions are way off. 0.57$ on a post is nowhere near 5.3 USD. Let's count:

  • 0.57 *0.78 (Average currator's cut) = 0.44
  • 0.44 / 2 = 0.22 SBD = 3.124 USD
  • 0.44 / 2 = 0.22 SBD -> 1/16 SP!! = 0.25 USD
  • Total = 3.374 USD, almost 40% less than your addon suggests.

You need to look into your code, mate. That being said, I can't wait on the addon.

So here's how I'm calculating it, maybe you can point out where I'm messing up?

  • Not taking out curator cut - total value shown is for all parties involved - there will be an option to do this
  • Currently 50/50 payouts is actually 66/33 in favor of SBD - there will be an option to adjust this too
  • Steem/USD and SBD/USD taken from CoinMarketCap right now at $3.63 and $12.62 respectively
  • .57 * 2/3 = .38 SBD = $4.79 USD
  • .57 * 1/3 = .19 SP = $.69 USD
  • Total of $5.48 at time of writing this comment. Roughly matches the $5.3 from yesterday

great self promotion man!

Hahaha the utopian-io vote came in literally a few seconds after I commented on your post. Not gonna lie I'm a little in shock right now :)

Hey @maxg I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

YESSSSS I love this. This is @adsactly what some people have been requesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55