Steem Metadata Editor

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)


image.png

Repository

https://github.com/mktcode/steem-metadata-editor

Edit json_metadata of posts and comments.

My current project, the-magic-frog.com relies heavily on json_metadata of posts as well as comments. To test new developments I was often forced to write small scripts to manipulate the metadata. Since I didn't find any available tool (Especially not for comments!), I quickly wrote my own last night. Today I made it publicly available on heroku. (First time using heroku... wow, I like it!)

steem-metadata-editor.herokuapp.com

You can login using SteemConnect and then simply see your last 100 posts/comments and edit their json_metadata property in a simple text field. Nothing special but I needed it.

image.png

The editor is really just a simple textarea but at least the JSON is indented and it prevents you from submitting invalid JSON.


image.png

Technology Stack

The page is build with Nuxt.js and consists of only one single index page and an auth page to receive the SteemConnect access token.

The SteemConnect integration is actually based on this tiny stupidly simple SteemConnect plugin for Vue.js I published a few days ago. I will improve this plugin and make it more useful in the future but for now it does what it's supposed to do.

The site uses a very simple Vuex store to handle login/logout, fetching posts and comments from the blockchain and switching between posts/comments to edit.

That's it! Really simple but for me at least also really useful.

Roadmap

How to contribute?

As usual... simply submit pull requests and hope for the best.

GitHub Account

https://github.com/mktcode

Sort:  

Very good idea! Maybe tomorrow! ;)

Excellent work man! Look forward to speaking with you at some point soon.

Excellent work man!
Look forward to speaking with
You at some point soon.

                 - anarcotech


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Nice man, often we make tools in a project but we don't realize that the tools we made to build the project itself is a project too

The project we build helps the people who have very specific need for it, but the tools are so generalised that it could help many people.

Thank you! I hope it will be of some use for some.

Hey @mkt
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

  • Very good code, you're a Vue master now.
  • Oh so useful, you give visibility to the underbelly of steem!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Leaving a mark here, saying this was useful for me. Thanks, @mkt.

Great to hear that it's still working and useful to people. :)

Congratulations @mkt! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Simple, but useful tool, thanks

Thank you! That's what it is supposed to be. :)

Howdy! Curious if you're interested in keeping this tool up to date with steemconnect dropping the v2 subdomain. It was a simple fix for my dApp but I don't see v2. anywhere in this project.

Can it still work now? After I login with steemconnect, it showed a tab only says "Connecting..."

Hi! I never touched this thing after releasing it. After such a long time I'm pretty sure it needs some updates. I'm working on something else currently (@merge-rewards) so I won't have time to fix this now. Probably it's just the vue-steemconnect plugin that needs to be updated. You know what? I'll look into this late this day. I'll let you know. ;)

Thanks. I'm looking forward to that😊

I think I know what the problem is. I think I can fix it this evening or tomorrow morning.

Cool man! You are so efficient! 100% upvote salute though it doesn't worth much.

Works again! :)

Great! But may still have some problems. It only works in comments, can't edit the metadata of posts(Can't save changes even if it doesn't show invalid JSON.)

Hmmm... Ok, thanks. I actually tested only comments. I tried editing a post's metadata now but since all my posts are too old, it has no effect of course. But the UI worked.

Can't save changes even if it doesn't show invalid JSON.

That means the button doesn't do anything or what?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62