Ditch Discord and use matrix.org insteadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Hello,

I find it hypocritical that an open-source project that plans to better the open-source movement uses a closed-source platform, one with an over-reaching privacy policy.

My suggestion is to stop using Discord and use matrix.org instead, which is fully FLOSS. Matrix.org is the platform and for client you can use www.riot.im.

Here are some advantages of matrix.org:

  • Fully open-source software;
  • Decentralized! You can run your own server and you'll be able to talk with other matrix users;
  • End to end encryption (E2EE);
  • It has several clients you can use, the most well known is riot.im, which is multi-platform;



Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Hello @odd1 thanks for the suggestion. I have accepted this contribution because I did not know about matrix.org. Keep in mind for the next contributions you should actually provide ideas on new features. This what the Ideas category is meant for. Thank you

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your effort on Utopian. You are doing great work!

Ya, sorry about that. I was using utopian's ideas as if it was github's issues. Apparently I should not do so. Need to get the hang of it. Thank you again!

Wow, I'm gonna check this one out.. Discord is great but we could always do more with decentralisation

Definitely check it out. It's a fantastic project!

Hey @odd1 I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 10% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

-Your contribution is less informative than others in this category.

Achievements

-You have less than 250 followers. Just gave you a gift ;)
-This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

interesting, will have a look at it.
Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89