Logo for lightsteem

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

pre.png

Repository

https://github.com/emre/lightsteem

Linked Task Request

https://steemit.com/@emrebeyler/task-request-a-logo-for-lightsteem

Details

Lightsteem is a light python client to interact with the STEEM blockchain.
with these main features;

  • No hard-coded methods. All potential future appbase methods are automatically supported.
  • Retry and Failover support for node errors and timeouts. See Retry and Failover.
    and it's actively under development.

Lightsteem developed by one of Utopian member and moderator @emrebeyler, also a steem witness.
Don't forget to vote for him.

Benefits / Improvements

There were no specific color choices but straightforward keywords which I mainly focus on Lightning, Fast & Lite.

It's a python library so first thing came into my mind is to use python's great blue and yellow colors, it would also help to distinguish it from other steem related projects (with thunder shaped logos). I'm not sure if it's appropriate to share but busy.org is a well known example.

I also want to include some banners to use for project update posts. Lightsteem has two posts right now with a nice looking terminal/code screenshots as post thumbnails.

Proof of authorship

Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 17.39.16.png

I've already picked the colors that I want to use. These are just for presentation purposes.
Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 17.50.40.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 18.09.21.png

First I thought I can use a typeface following the slightly rotated horizontal line of the icon to continue the movement affect. However it might be unnecessary. I'd like to hear your thoughts about it.
Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 17.40.16.png

And here are the banner set, there is no specific direction, I explored two alternatives. Which end up well. And It's in a well organized, easy to adjust psd file.
banners.png
apply.png

Tools

Adobe Illustrator
Affinity Designer
Adobe Photoshop

Original files

Creative Commons LicenseThis work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
FilesGoogle Drive
FontAvenir, Medium Oblique

Proof of Work Done

https://github.com/anilkilic

It's been 3 months since my latest contribution post, so I hope I didn't miss anything.

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution and congratz to being selected.

I like the very subtle gradient in that yellow part. Its well balanced and I like you created multiple banners.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks, and sorry for the early post, I thought it was announced in the post when I get the DMs.

Thank you for your review, @andrejcibik!

So far this week you've reviewed 2 contributions. Keep up the good work!

the slanted logotype is lit! got that light vibe :D

It's so light that it's levitating :) Thanks

Nice work, I can see fine pieces in there which I like.

image.png

And the monochrome version on the blue-gradient background looks nice as well.

image.png

However, for some reason. I am not able to perceive the logo normally in the other cases in which you rotated it. I noticed a similar effect on tobaloidee's recent work for FPL although it was not about rotation but colours. Still, in some cases I can see it normally and in some, it just loses its meaning. :D

Hey, thanks for the nice words.

I can't say I'm totally understand what you said at the end but I just checked tobaloidee's FPL presentation, I think these are perceived different just because it's more like a negative color scheme.
Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 20.53.43.png

I couldn't find a helpful article right now but that's about how we see things different when they are dark on light or opposite even their sizes are equal.

In my case, if logos on the banners looks different due to its perspective, there is also a slight shadow under the logos that might affect how it looks. Or I just messed up while preparing the presentation. ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Yes, those are exactly which I meant. I can't help it but I perceive it differently and it does not look like the original image.

g4567.png

And it is similar with the rotated versions of yours.

What kind of sorcery is that now I can't tell which one was the correct one, and I absolutely can't fix the 3rd image in my mind. Like the face stands still but eyes and mouth changed places. OMG now I'm cursed as well, I gotta find another career.

I like simple and know simple is hard what trips me up is that once i see the two arrows that is all I see.

Posted using Partiko Android

Once you see it... Thanks for coming by, those arrow like shapes wasn't planned actually, it happened but it actually well-fitted with the project's description. You ask something, you get something. I should've include this in the presentation.
Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 21.03.12.png

That fits nicely then. I/O

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @oups! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @oups!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01