New Proposed Icon for My Bike Lane

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Details

introxxxhdpi.png
Hi everyone this is my design for the open source app My Bike Lane.
This app uses GPS tracking saved by cyclists who list their travels and record violations so that anyone who uses this app will recognize recent violations and anticipate it on their journey while biking.

Original vs. Official Icon

In designing this new icon i used the color plate from the original and recreated a new concept.
comparisonxxxhdpi.png

My Concept

My concept is combining the GPS icon to front view bike. You can see in the design that once they are merged together, It will form an image of a man riding a bicycle.
conceptxxxhdpi.png

Other Color Backgrounds

I created three optional background colors for the icon. This will fit on any background you wish to use. The colors are well blended to the theme and it's not irritable to the eye.
variationxxxhdpi.png
codesxxxhdpi.png

New Icon one-color version on black and white theme

bnwxxxhdpi.png

New Icon Mock-up and Loading Screen

MOCKUPxxxhdpi.png


LOADING PAGExxxhdpi.png

Proof of Works

image.png


image.png


image.png


image.png


image.png

Icon Sizes for Android

192x192pixels
Icon 1192.png
144x144pixels
Icon 1144.png

Fonts Used

I used default illustrator font in the presentation
"Myriad Pro Regular"
image.png

Benefits / Improvements

I reviewed the repository of the app and found out that the latest commit was 6 months ago and according to utopian rules the max is 1 year. So i decided to create a new design for the icon. I also checked that the latest contribution for the old icon was 3 years ago. It will be much better to make a new one after sticking for the same icon for 3 years.
image.png

Tools

I used only Adobe Illustrator CC 2017 Version in designing this new Icon including the presentation. You can see below that the designs i made was all at the same file.
image.png

Original files

Here are the links of the files i used in creating the design.
I provided adobe illustrator available export formats.

All files and presentation materials i used in this design are all originally created by me.

All files(Ai,.PNG,.SVG,.PDF)
Github Link

Thank you for viewing my design. Keep posted for my future posts :)



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

  • its quite detailed. Consider making the symbol simpler.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks @andrejcibik.
Ok i'll make it more simple next time

Hey @patricjames I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67