You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Analysis] The factors influencing Steem's retention rate

in #utopian-io6 years ago

this is amazing. Thank you. I found this post very very interesting. I didnt think the steemit.com interface was that bad, I know trending is an issue, but really didn't think it was having such an impact on retention. Fantastic work. Excited to see more of your analysis work.

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your comment and your resteem !
I must say I took example on you and Asher and tried to make an analysis up to the standard (benchmark) you defined for the #analysis section.
I'm thinking about the next subject I will analyze, but haven't decided yet.

Steemit seems to have a lot of impact on retention, but the problem is that the factors are numerous and it's hard to determine why a particular user left. Imagine someone who waited two weeks for its account validation. Finally signed up, not remembering why he signed up in the first place, he arrives on Steemit, see the interface, looks at the Trending page, makes a little comment on any post to never come back.

What made him left ? The process of account verification ? The interface ? The content he saw on Trending ? The lack of response to his comment ?

Hard to say, but comparing Steemit numbers to Busy, it's clear a better interface has the potential to retain users much better than the current one.

the sign up problem is big, as for account verification, well there is non really. There are so many factors indeed, but thats where business intelligence comes into play and what you have done here is really excellent information for steemit inc. I hope @ned sees this post.

I always thought the time it took to activate your account was due to some verification process happening. It seems I was wrong...
Why does it take a week then to validate it ? I must be missing something here. I understand that you can not delegate 15 SP to every account created (the phone number is here for that), but if there is no verification, what is a delay good for ?

I hope they see it too, but I don't really know how to "call" them.

from looking at the data it 'appears' that steemit inc block approve accounts.

In the image the bar chart shows the days in may accounts were set up. other months are similar

It clearly seems that they put in place some kind of a "queue" and then massively approve accounts once in a while (always on Thursdays and Wednesdays). Maybe the team working on that only works these days of the week :D
Thanks for the picture, I have never seen it. Is it in one of your reports or is it someone else's ? I would love to keep an eye on that.

I don't understand the goal of that. If no account is refused and no verification is done, why not instantly activate accounts ? It's kinda like shooting yourself in the foot in terms of retention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98