Tutorial Step by Step - How To Contribute Translation via the Utopian Platform

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Today there is a new announcement from the Utopian team of a new section called "Tutorials" whereby we can lay out Tutorial Steps for newbies. I am very excited about this new Catetory as I've been helping different people to translate open source projects into their native langauges. This will surely help the open source project owners to get their work go global so that everyone can use their apps or softwares and programs.

Now that this Tutorial Section is up, I will lay out the procedure steps one by one so that all my student followers can all come in to this page and know exactly what they need to do in order to get rewarded for their open source translation. This will save me from repeating myself with all the questions asked so that from now on, people can just come to Utopian Tutorial Category to find this post now and in the future.


Step 1: Sign up With the Utopian Platform.

Click on the Utopian Platform link here:
https://utopian.io/

Utopian1.jpg

You see the 2 Red arrows there?

  1. Click on the Sign up Tab there on the Utopian site.
  2. In the red box, click on to sign up with Steemit.

Steemit is the blockchain that rewards contribution.
So make sure you sign up to both sites.

Use the same username for both.


Step 2: Find the Translation Tab inside the Utopian Platform

When you get inside the Utopian platform, you will see the following screen:

Uto2.jpg


Step 3: Make sure the project that you do is an Open Source Project

I have done many translation projects in the past while but I did not check this Step 3. I went in to translate freewares but unfortunately not all freewares are open source.

So if you want your contribution to be approved via Utopian and get rewarded, you need to check to make sure that the Open Source project that you are working on is an Open Source Project.


Step 4: Find the Open Source Project via the Github Project Field

In the Editor Page where you write your post, you will find a Field where you need to enter the Open Project Name.

Utopian3.jpg

I put a red box around that field.

It says: Browse Github repositories.

This is the toughest part for me in the past few weeks as I didn't know how to browse Github repositories. I also have many people asking me about this question, as many are new to do and struggle to know what to put there. So I hope with this new tutorial laying out step by step for translators, you will see how it is done. This will then give you the confidence to find the right repositories yourself.


Step 5: The drop down menu comes down.

I will show you an example of how to find the Open Source Repositories.

For example: I want to find an open source project in the Crowdin site.

So in this instance, I want to do DictionaryForMids Project.

I go into their page in Crowdin to read about their description.

When I read their page, I need to make sure that their page is an ** Open Source** Project. Not all translation projects in Crowdin is open source. In fact, many of them are closed source projects which I translated quite a few. It's good to contribute to them also, but if you want to get rewarded by the Utopian platform, you need to make sure the translation work is open source.

train7.jpg

This one that i have looked up is an Open Source project.

Now I can confidently go and do the translation knowing that I will get rewarded if I do a good job in the translation.


Step 6: Enter "DictoinaryForMids" in the Repository Field

I type in "DictionaryForMids" in the Repository Field

Press Enter.

A drop down menu will come down.

Utopian4.jpg

In the above screen shot, I have highlighted the 2 Open Source repositories that fit into this Open Source Project Translation

I can choose either one of them. Both of them work.
-- DictionaryforMids/Android
--DictionaryforMids/Root

In this way, you can be sure that your translation for this work is an Open Source Project.

Step 7: Write your post and submit

Write your post and hand in your translation proofs. Write out what you have contributed and show them your work is completed and done.

At the bottom, you are allowed to type in 4 tags. Make sure you do them in small letter or else it won't be accepted. The Utopian-io tag is by default.

Click Submit!

Voila! You are done.

Wait for a moderator to approve your work.

Once you are approved, you are good to go and just wait for the Utopian bot to come to reward you.


Conclusion

I want to thank those of you who also wanted to contribute in this open source work. The translation work is much neglected and waiting for translators and proof readers.

Now that the Utopian platform offers a way for you to get your work rewarded, you can follow the above procedure to get many of these open source projects to go global as more languages are provided for users world wide.

Thank you for your attention,
Rosa
@rosatravels


Thank you for reading this post!

谢谢你的阅读!希望你喜欢。如果你喜欢我的分享, 请点赞并跟随我。

You can contact me at Utopian here: https://utopian.io/@rosatravels
You can contact me at Steemit here: https://steemit.com/@rosatravels
You can contact me at my Website here: http://LearnPianoWithRosa.com/



Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Hey @rosatravels I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 53% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

  • Utopian has detected 2 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

  • Thanks for explaining to me how it works! Beep beep!
  • Much more informative than others in this category. Good job!
  • Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
  • You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
  • In total you have more votes than average for this category. Bravo!
  • You have just unlocked 7 achievements. Yeah!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Great post ...!!! Thanks for keeping updated..!! It helped me a lot..!!

Great. Follow the steps and you will be able to do it too.

Thank you for your simple but enlightening post! Just a little typo in the step 6 title ;D

Thanks! But I can't edit it now as it is over 7 days.

Great information thanks for Sharing.

I simply like your article, what great content especially step by step, Thank you @rosatravels !!
you should visit my blog it includes pictures about beautiful places in my country you'll love it
Support me with your follow @hatimbenya for getting better in next blog
Sincerely, thank you

Hi @hatimbenya, Welcome to steemit. I went over to look at your blog. Beautiful photos you have so I upvoted your blog. Your country is very beautiful indeed.

Thank you @rosatravels !! And you're welcome to my country anytime just let me know.
@hatimbenya

I really like this post I'm going to get part of this too. Thanks a lot

Great. This tutorial will help you get started.

My pleasure my friend
you should visit my blog it includes pictures about beautiful places in my country you'll love it @achrafbenz
Sincerely, thank you

Hey, very beautiful photos of your country. I commented and upvoted you there. Keep up your good start.

Thank you my friend :)

nice post...
i followed and upvoted you...
help me to get followers and upvotes...
thank you...

Need to follow your good example.

Super duper. Resteemed so that I can follow the tutorial.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58