Collective Translation of the Steem Whitepaper (in french)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Whitepaper Steem in french.jpg

How it all started …

5 months ago, I arrived on Steem as a blogger. A blogger you know… Not a tech-crypto friend… I even didn't know what crypto meant.

My mother tongue is french and I wanted to write my stories in french… But I couldn't find anyone writing in french. So I feel a bit disapointed : I can write in french… But who will read me ? And who will I read ? And with whom will I share ?

So, I had two choices :

  1. Start to write, read and be part of the english community.

  2. Create the french community.

    And, a bit unconscious of the work it would take me... I took the second option.

Days after days, I started to learn about Steem. I read the Whitepaper in english (and couldn't not understand half of it). I discovered the Steem tools, I discovered tips & tricks to be successfull, to write quality content, etc.

And, days after days, I created, in my blog @roxane, a video to explain how Steem works to the french people… who, I knew, will arrive.

5 months later, I can express myself in french, read things in french and have wonderfull french friends with whom I can chat days (and nights) on Discord.

And every days, more french people are comming… and staying (that was the harder part).

Why translating the Steem Whitepaper in french ?

I have explained many tips and tricks to the french community. And as the french community were growing I tought it would be great to create a project all together.

You might be aware an update of the Steem Whitepaper has been released two month ago.

This is an important document that helps newcomers understanding better the platform… So, why not to do a collective translation ?

Doing that all together would bond the relation with everyone from, yet small, the french community. And as you know, when you get invested in something, you don't want to leave, you feel attached and you are more willing to tell your friends to come...

So… One week after the the release, I suggested to the community to translate this document together. As I expected this raised a lot of interest and, with the help of @ragepeanut, @corsica, @evildido, @paikan, @planetenamek and @oroger we used the open-source tool Zanata.org and released a first version of the Steem Whitepaper in french a month later.

The document is a direct fork from the official github repository. We did this to keep the apparence of the original Whitepaper and be able to provide a pull request to include the french version of the Whitepaper in the official repository.

At that point @oreille-pointue provided a great effort with the grammar and spelling review of the document which had still a few mistakes.

The document is now ready to be merged in the official repository, if Steemit Inc accepts it. Here is the pull-request. In the meantime, the french Whitepaper is available on Comprendre-Steem.fr, the website I set up to help the french minnow and grow the french community. You can use this direct link to have a look : http://comprendre-steem.fr/whitepaper/whitepaper.fr.pdf.

And this how the french community ended up to translate the entire Steem Whitepaper !


Open Source Contribution posted via https://utopian.io



If you speak french, join me on my profil @roxane to have more information about How to share quality content on Steem and others tips. And have a look at Comprendre-steem.fr!
You will find everything you need to start on Steem the FAQ, videos, tutos, tools etc.

And if speak english, you can follow me on my personal profil @malik.roxane where I talk about many different things and sometimes in english !

Please, rested this post if you want me to join SteemFest2

If you like my work and want to support me, this is my BTC adress : 1H4faCE3f37JDi8bQqADXn4V1nQutr13oj

Pour signature.png

Sort:  

Une fois de plus, superbe de beau travail @malik.roxanne!!!

Merci de partager tout ceci avec nous tous. Je prends donc l'occasion de lire ceci en français, quelle chance. Je partage et te reviens sur ceci bientôt!

Namasté :)

Dommage, si je l'avais su plus tôt j'aurais pu apporter aussi ma modeste contribution vu que j'ai également quelques compétences en la matière. Joli travail collectif en tout cas ! :)

Ca fait +d'un mois qu'on était dessus, tracasse ;-)
Mais on va se lancer dans la traduction du SMT whitepaper (smart media token) ... avec @soushi888 :D

Bon boulot! Approved! [utopian-moderator]

Haaa that's great ! Thanks for the approval ! That was fast :D

You are doing a nice thing for your community and the people speaking french. Congrats!

Thank you so much for you message !

Hey @roxane I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 88% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

-Utopian has detected 2 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

-You are helping this project go global! Appreciated!
-Good amount of information. Thank you!
-A very informative contribution. Good job!
-Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
-You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
-You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!
-This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!
-You have just unlocked 7 achievements. Yeah!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

Je viens de sauvegarder http://comprendre-steem.fr/whitepaper/whitepaper.fr.pdf. Car je vais l'étudier à fond en français, ma langue maternelle aussi, que je comprends bien mieux en général. Vois-tu l'ironie de la chose? Peut-être que je vais finalement pouvoir lire tout ce qui touche aux "bons trucs" que j'avais volontairement "sauté" dans la version en anglais. Trop tech pour ma tite tête de rêveuse ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70