You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Checky 0.3.2 - Upvotes, Comment Deletion and More !

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Hi
Thanks for creating this interesting application.
I have a question. Does the fall into the category of a “DAPP”?
I want to do an article on Blockchain based applications on Steemit versus DAPPS on etherium. Does Steem monsters qualify as a DAPP? How does it compare to Cryptokitties?

Thank you for your help.
28329A55-E375-4572-85B2-2EA702D06A35.gif

Sort:  

Hi, sorry for the late reply, hopefully it's not too late.

Depending on who you ask, you will get a different answer to what a dapp is every time. My bot isn't a dapp since it saves its data (usernames, settings, state...) on the server it's hosted on and not on the blockchain. I don't know anything about Cryptokitties, I just know it by name and frankly find its concept quite stupid. The same concept but centralized would have been a big flop, in my opinion it just got popular for the fact that it was decentralized. Contrary to Cryptokitties, I like what Steem Monsters is doing (and not only because it's on this blockchain), it has the potential to be big. Steem Monsters is in my opinion a dapp, if the website shuts down one day, your cards will still exist since they are saved on the blockchain and someone will probably make another website so you can keep playing Steem Monsters using those cards. I'm sure that same concept applies to Cryptokitties. However, are those apps fully decentralized ? That's a question that I don't have the answer to.

You were probably expecting me to say the differences in terms of decentralization between those two apps but as I said, I only know Cryptokitties by name. Hopefully you still find something useful in this reply !

Hi
Thank you for the information, that is very helpful.
6DACC424-86C9-420F-B1D4-356801BA4A7E.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85