You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemits Bidbot Business Income Analysis April '18

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Nice analysis. That rising trendline is a little frightening.

Personally, I think bidbots are antithetical to the core premise of Steemit.
Those with Steem Power should be curating, not selling that steem-power to give people the right to self-curate. This is how junk content not only proliferates, but thrives on Steemit. And this is how lazy whales decide to recoup their early investment in steem by no longer contributing directly to the health of the community.

At the end of the day, I think there is only one thing Steemit can do:

Sort:  

The bidbots bring in more investors into the steemit ecosystem as more people can buy large amount of steem and power it up. Check the largest power-up for last month, 60% were vote sellers which is a good thing for steem.

The more steem that is locked up, the scarce steem becomes and the high the value when the demand for it comes. I don't see anything wrong with selling my vote.

Is this a good thing though? Doesn't this just confirm the argument that Steemit is just a ponzi scheme?

i.e.
Investors come to Steemit be investors and simply recoup their investment by selling it to others at a markup.
vs
Content creators coming to create content, engage with others and invest in the community.

I don't think it is an either-or scenario, but if Steemit leans to far towards investment/speculation/ponzi then the platform will crash once the market crashes and the investors leave.

While I like paula's analysis skills, I agree that bidbots are just another nail in the Reward Pool draining coffin.

This is ridiculous, and the overt gaming and scheming won't stop until there's nothing left.

hay talltim, I am not pro bidbots. I like to keep my analysis posts free from my opinion when I can. In fact I intend on doing a follow up post on this data that include my personal view.

Not implying that you are -- just saying bidbots are contributing to the feedback loop that will eventually swamp Steemit in general.

Always value your analysis, and look forward to your posts on the subject.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84