Question: Any demand for a Tutorial on a Java Commodore 64 emulator?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Hi all,

I loathe Facebook most of the time, but it did remind me of something I'd completely forgot about!

Five years ago, I spent some time investigating how Emulators worked. I then set about prototyping a Commodore 64 emulator (being a fan and owner of the time) in JAVA.

After some very frustrating late evenings, I managed to get a few screens popping up! Given the core of the 6510 CPU was emulated, ROM loading and a few of the VicII chip display modes were operational:

Things progressed nicely, with a few basic games starting to load (from tape) and play:

..and steadily, more commercial games began to emerge, as I worked through bugs:




I remember that I put a hold on the project, as I had got what I wanted out of it. I.E. I learnt how they worked and could see a few games playing. However, life often gets in the way and I returned to use mainstream emulators.

I need to state that I can honestly put my hands up and declare that I ignored all other open-source emulators.
My development was solely based on the brilliant Commodore 64 reference manuals; thus acted in a way that the original emulator scene pioneers did.
I did discover and use a few 'brilliant' reference documents that the community has curated, i.e. someone kindly decrypted and documented the inner works of the VicII chip. Whilst another has created a 'test package' for all CBM64 emulators. Thus, I used these as a reference rather than resort to plagiarism from other implementations.

QUESTION

Is there any demand for me to provide a tutorial on this subject? I.E. to explain my approach, to show the code and provide it all as open source?

It isn't complete, 'yet', but it 'could be'. I remember being part way through the 'Sprites' implementation and was starting to research the SID chip for sound.

If there is enough interest, I'd be willing to commence a Tutorial on this subject. Going further, I would propose to develop in both Java and Godot-Engine script.

Sort:  

I would be interested in hearing more about it, the process, how you solved various parts of it and so on. Not so much a tutorial, more of an interesting read, can't recall having read about the creation of an emulator before.

The hours spent with c64... The original and with emulators for various systems over the years... Sniff

That does sound like a good angle to write about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55