Tutorial (Godot Engine v3 - GDScript) - [I'm Prototyping!]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago

... Tutorials

No updates recently

Hi all,

I'm writing this to keep you up to date with what I'm doing.

I've been distracted this week because of:

  1. Consultancy work for a big client; I need to pay the bills!
  2. Prototyping Alien movement using Vertlet Integration
  3. Prototyping with the Godot Engine Physics engine

Consultancy

As stated in my Bio, I'm a professional I/T Architect and therefore need to keep money coming in to fund these extra activities. I've been in high demand for the past few weeks, hence the slow down this week.

Prototyping Alien movement

I want to expand the game to use more fluid and dynamic movement. I've read a lot of material on Verlet Integration and now have lots of working prototypes:


smooth1.gif
Note: the recording process reduces smoothness!

We'll be able to add Aliens that sweep in, follow the leader and change or maintain gaps between each other!

OR


smooth 2.gif
Note: the recording process reduces smoothness!

We can close the gaps and make long monsters! The type that will require a lot of hits to be destroyed (with the tail being removed) OR it can be made to SPLIT into multiple small packs (aka Centipede style)!

There is a lot to be said for taking out time to investigate new algorithms. I don't mind confessing that the three coding math videos have influenced me! I already knew the theory but didn't recognise them as a principle. The three in this set have reinforced my understanding; you are never too old to learn!

Godot Engine Physics engine

Up until now, I've deliberately avoided using the Godot Engine physics engine. It is brilliant and I can provide you details on how to use. In fact, I had always planned to walk you through it.

However, up until now, I've deliberately stayed shy of it because I want to show you how YOU can control 2D sprites and nodes without having to resort to using the engine.

You can develop your own physics engine, if needed although that would not be sensible because Godot Engine is optimised for GPU acceleration with pre-compiled library code

My point is that you COULD. Never let anyone tell you that Godot should be used in one particular way!

Yes, there are often better ways to do anything in life, but the right approach is to try something; from mistakes, we learn!

Using the engine makes the developer life MUCH easier, because it already has rules built into it. HOWEVER, you MUST learn and understand those rules before they can utilised; a catch-22 situation.

My thinking is to walk you through some basic code that achieves the result (aka prototyping), I then expect to transition you to the Physics engine. That transition will be made easier, because you will understand underlying principles already explained.

However, for those that can't wait, I'm planning to bring them forward (as i've already had several ask).

Final

Please let me know your thoughts on this post. What do you want out of this? IS it helping you? Do you want more?

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Thank you

Verlet Integration sounds interesting (the centipede one looks very cool!). The tutorial section has been pretty barren recently, so I'm looking forward to seeing some of your tutorials again.

I'm preparing for more articles in the next few days. I think the game is going to be an interesting blend of Space Invaders, Centipede and Galaxians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68887.40
ETH 3743.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67