SteemPlus 2.5.1 : Improvement thanks to your comments

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Let me start by saying that I have been deeply moved by the community reaction to our latest update. We worked hard for it but didn't expect to reach the top of the trending, big thank you to all those who helped us getting up there!

I have read all of your messages and found a lot of ideas for future improvement, but also small things that could be quickly changed for a better SteemPlus use. Also, you've helped me spotting some bugs and that s a great way to help us! Do not hesitate to contribute on Utopian when you've got some Suggestions or spot some bugs.

That's being said, following your comments, we've come up with a few fixes that have been released as of version 2.5.1.0.

Bug Fixes

  • A few typos were corrected, mostly in the popup. My fingers run faster than my brain.
  • Some settings were influencing eachother. Fixed
  • The bug preventing SteemPlus to start on Firefox has been fixed. This sneaky fox didn't like one of the functions of HtmlReady apparently!
  • With a very slow connection, reputation would sometimes mess up between users. Fixed.

New Features

  • The new Search bar design has been implemented.

image.png
image.png

  • We've enabled the night mode on our new features :

image.png
image.png

  • And made it look better on the not so new features:

image.png

  • The payout values will now be displayed in a limited height popup with a scroll (before it was going down all the way, creating a very very long popup in some cases.

image.png

  • SteemData is sometimes down and it causes the Mentions Tab to fail, a message will be displaid in that case.

Future work

  • As @yabapmatt suggested, we will work on adding the sticky post footer to the list of the features, asap.
  • Let us know what you want to see next!

@stoodkev and @cedricguillas for @steem-plus



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Cool features to see:

  • A bookmark would be awesome.
  • Add a Notification "bell" to every account I visit so I can choose to be notified everytime they post something, just as you notified me of this post on that splash screen.

This notification would achieve a similar purpose as it does on youtube.


For example:

  • Add another notification bell to let me know of the new posts or comments that have been added. This bell should follow you to any post you visit...just like the other buttons.

Great suggestion! It would take quite some work though so we ll save it for later.
But it s duely noted on my TODO list!


You like my work on SteemPlus? Please consider voting for me as witness here.

Ya got my vote!

color me stupid (which I are sometimes)
I haven't got my head wrapped around what Steem-plus IS.
Is it a new portal like Busy?
(don't think so)
Is it a STANDALONE portal?
(that would be great)

Pardon my confusion but I'm a slow learner.

Hi! SteemPlus is not a standalone, but a browser extension running on Chrome, Opera and Firefox.
It adds tons of features to Steemit, a few to Busy and Utopian. It uses SteemConnect of course and allow you to perform features such as Delegations, adding beneficiaries, seeing the real value of your account, seeing upvote value, and much more. You can see the full list of features and installation instructions in here

but it DOES use SteemConnect?
(I won't use any app that doesn't)
That's good to know.
I'll check it out.

No, it's just a browser add on that adds a lot of what busy and some others have added. It's pretty useful. You add it by downloading it from the add ons store for the browser you use. Works best in Chrome in my experience.

I posted a suggestion for Steemplus on Utopian. I'm sure you'll see it once it is approved. Just keep an eye on the suggestions. ;)

I just checked it, that would be possible with the services that offer an API. I ll keep it in mind for further development

Thanks for the quick updates and fixes.

I especially appreciate the night-mode improvements since that's how I prefer to use Steemit and most other websites.

Glad you like the new design =)

great tool, I'm using the chrome plugin.
are there plans to add more filter options? for example sort by time AND upvotes - now I can only choose between Recent OR Upvotes.


I also have a problem with the search overlay - when I click on any link in the search results, nothing happens...I can't open the articles my search found. Is this a known issue?

Thanks for noticing the search bar issue. I ll look more into it but i think its an effort from Steemit to prevent phishing. An easy workaround, is to Click Right > Open in a new Tab.


You like my work on SteemPlus? Please consider voting for me as witness here.

Slowly the ground gets better and I'm happy with some of the changes

We re doing our best! =)


You like my work on SteemPlus? Please consider voting for me as witness here.

Installing this on Firefox through Chrome Store Foxified was quite the experience, I have to say. Got it working in the end, I hope there aren't too many bugs when using it this way.

No plans for a native FF extension by any chance?

That would be a great improvement indeed because to be honest making it Chrome Foxified frendly is a pain in the ass. But for this to be possible, we d need more people in the team though.

better YET...a standalone application.
something like Busy or ChainBB but running on your computer,
a portal?

Maybe we ll get there at some point =)


You like my work on SteemPlus? Please consider voting for me as witness here.

You've added so many great features. I love that I can see both remaining voting power and the dollar amount of the vote all on the main page. Great job!

Glad you like these features! =)

Great job and contribution to the platform that I am loving. Thank you!

You re very welcome, we ll keep working on it!


You like my work on SteemPlus? Please consider voting for me as witness here.

steem-plus, very happy with Steemplus. Makes the environment more user friendly. upvoted resteemed and followed..

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56