You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Bot Tracker - Major Code Refactor

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

If it requires Javascript and overloads the CPU in a machine that lacks a GPU, it probably mines some Proof Of Work currency.
I still believe so.
I might be wrong.
Do API calls consume so much CPU capacity?
The Javascript could be spared by loading the newest image/frame/state every time the HTML page is reloaded.

In your defense, loading a Steemit page, and scrolling in it beyond a few pages overloads the CPU too.
steemit.com is shit, and in the past filling the memo part in the wallet felt like POW too.

Sort:  

It didn’t overload the CPU and it’s certainly not mining cryptocurrency, it was just inefficient and needed a refactor.

It didn’t overload the CPU

It did.
Not as much as steem.supply and some other websites unrelated to STEEM that I know, but it did.
We may regard the word overload in different ways.
I did not mean that it clogged it completely like some of those websites.

and it’s certainly not mining cryptocurrency, it was just inefficient and needed a refactor.

I saw your acknowledgement of the inefficiency in your initial post, and added another suggestion for improvement in my comment after I edited it.

JS is evil.
I try to avoid JS demanding websites as much as possible.
I will try your website again, but compulsory JS is always bad.
My suggestion in my previous comment applies to other real time needs as well.

This comment has received a 24.88 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 7.25% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @stimialiti!

This comment has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 50.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 6.94% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @stimialiti!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83