How to leverage Steemconnect V2 hot sign featuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago

image.png

While developing my SteemPlus extension, I've needed a way to enable my users to Delegate their Steem Power without having to give their Private Active Key.

I knew that for this purpose I could use SteemConnect v2, but I didn't want to make my users login (a second time!) on Steemit, so I explored what kind of hot signing they were proposing. I saw other applications such as MinnowBooster used link generated from there and find out that Steemconnect was actually proposing hot signing for pretty much everything.

Here is what to do to incorporate some hot signing links into your application.

Step 1 - Get to the hot signing links page



I got lucky on that one, I didn't even know that such a page existed. But curious by nature, I played a bit with the steemconnect url and found that page.

image.png

The list goes on, just take a good look and you'll find out that you can let your users authenticate to trigger pretty much any action from the blockchain. So, chose your poison!

Step 2 - Create a test link

Let's say, I want to delegate Vesting Shares (convenient, I've already done that ;p ). After clicking on the corresponding tab, this is what I get.

image.png

Next, I'll just write anything as input. The purpose is only to see what the hot signing link look like:

image.png

This generated the following link :

https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/delegate-vesting-shares?delegator=stoodkev&delegatee=steem-plus&vesting_shares=500%20SP

Use the generated link as an example

This link will serve you as an example to dynamically create the hot signing links you will pass to your users.

In this case, I will stick with the example of the delegation from SteemPlus, the link is thus generated in Javascript:

var url = 'https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=' + $('sender').val() + '&delegatee=' + $('.receiver').val() + '&vesting_shares='+delegated_vest+'%20VESTS';

You can repeat those steps with pretty much all the features that offer SteemConnect and generate the hot signing links that you need for your App.
So far, links are available for:

  • Account Witness Proxy
  • Account Witness Vote
  • Cancel Transfer From Savings
  • Claim Reward Balance
  • Comment (Post or Update)
  • Comment Options (Sadly, Comment and comment options are posted separately, occasioning users to authenticate twice).
  • Custom Json
  • Decline Voting Rights
  • Delegate Vesting Shares
  • Delete Comment
  • Escrow Approve
  • Escrow Dispute
  • Escrow Release
  • Escrow Transfer
  • Follow
  • Mute
  • Profile Update
  • Reblog
  • Set Reset Account
  • Transfer
  • Transfer From Savings
  • Transfer To Savings
  • Transfer To Vesting
  • Undelegate Vesting Shares
  • Unfollow
  • Unmute
  • Vote
  • Withdraw Vesting (equivalent to Power Down I believe)

Hope this helps, don't hesitate to contact me if you have questions!

@stoodkev



Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Blasted on @SteemBlast.com!
Blast any Steemit post using SteemBlast.com
How Do I Blast My Post?
Go to your Steemit Post URL
2. Erase it in the address
3. Type blast and Go
Get Blasted Instantly – Blasted posts are 100% upvoted every 2.4hrs, Blast your post to Win.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

[utopian-moderator]

voy a probar amigo, muy buena cotribucion elijo tu post para votarlo :)

Hey @stoodkev I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 24% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

  • Your contribution is less informative than others in this category.
  • Utopian has detected 1 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

  • Thanks for explaining to me how it works! Beep beep!
  • Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
  • You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift ;)
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
  • You have a good amount of votes on your contributions. Good job!
  • You have just unlocked 7 achievements. Yeah!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

great work

This is awesome! I have SteemConnect but I am still trying to figure out how I can use these.

Great post, thanks!

Necrothread!! Rise!! Just found this post most helpful. Thank you for taking the time over a year ago to write this post. Exactly what I needed for a project.

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73